Your Guide to Vegan Options at Downtown Disney – July 2018 Update

Welcome to Downtown Disney! Let’s eat some vegan food!

These are the options to the best of my knowledge as of July 2018. Please be aware that I try to update as thoroughly as I can, but the food options change regularly at Disneyland Resort, so the information becomes out of date at some point. Please contact me if you find that something has changed and that a previously vegan item is no longer vegan so that I can update the post! 🙂 Messaging me on Instagram (@happiestveganonearth) is the quickest way to contact me.

Table of Contents (Jump to a section!)

Tortilla Jo’s
Splitsville
La Brea Bakery (Express)
Starbucks
Naples
Sprinkles Cupcakes
Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen
Uva Bar and Café
Catal Restaurant
Jamba Juice
Marceline’s Confectionary
The Habit Burgers Truck
Afters Ice Cream Truck
Sephora
Curl Surf
Coming soon: Ballast Point!
Coming soon: Black Tap Burgers and Shakes!
Coming soon: Salt and Straw!

  • Tortilla Jo’s

The veggie burrito is vegan with no modifications! I double checked with the chef that the quinoa meatballs are vegan, no eggs or dairy. And it doesn’t come with cheese or sour cream, but it doesn’t hurt to say “no cheese or sour cream” when you order, just in case! The burrito has house made quinoa meatballs, black beans, roasted tomatoes, poblano peppers, and red onion, topped with salsa ranchera and served with cilantro rice!

IMG_20180715_135500_696.jpg

The portobello mushroom fajitas are also vegan! I don’t have a photo of those yet. They’re not supposed to come with cheese or sour cream, but again, it doesn’t hurt to say it just in case.

Just for reference if you want to get any sides or modify any menu items, the server told me that the red rice is made in chicken stock, and the refried beans contain lard. So the vegan alternatives to those are the cilantro lime rice and the black beans.

  • Splitsville

This is a bowling alley with beautiful mid-century design and some impressive vegan options to match! This one is an off-menu veggie sushi roll, ask your server and they should know what it is. It’s packed with fresh and crunchy veggies! Make sure to ask to switch the kimchee ponzu sauce for regular ponzu sauce (there is fish in the kimchee), and omit the pickled radish, which has fish sauce.

20180714_145510(0)-01.jpeg

Another great option is the modified Grilled Avocado. Normally this comes with tuna, and you can replace the tuna with either grilled veggies or tofu — I went with tofu! Switch out the kimchee ponzu sauce (contains fish) for regular ponzu sauce, omit the spicy mayo (I added sriracha once it arrived), and switch out the wonton chips (contain egg) for cucumber chips!

IMG_20180714_155944_129.jpg

There is also the modified Sweet and Spicy chicken bowl, substituting tofu for the chicken. You also need to switch the thai chili sauce (contains dairy) for ponzu sauce, and then add sriracha if you’re a sriracha fan!

IMG_20180714_164005_607.jpg

You can also modify the Poke Bowl — get it with tofu instead of fish, omit the spicy mayo, wonton chips, and pickled radish, and ask for extra veggies.

You can get the edamame appetizer as well, just switch the sauce, since the spicy sauce it comes with has dairy.

They also have lots of fun drinks! I got a cucumber cooler, which is Tito’s vodka, lime juice, simple syrup, and sliced cucumber. Because the bartender had already seen me cover my food in sriracha, she asked if I wanted tajín on the rim of my glass, and of course I said yes 🙂

20180715_172447.jpg

  • La Brea Bakery (Express)

At the express side of the restaurant, they have a veggie burger that sometimes shows up on the specials menu board, but the cast member cold me that they can almost always make it, even if it’s not on the specials board! It’s a house made vegan patty that is rice and quinoa based. Order with no mayo and no cheese. The chef checked for dairy, egg, and honey in the bread. It was a really delicious burger, I would totally get it again! It comes with either chips or mixed greens with balsamic dressing.

IMG_20180627_122310_717.jpg

This burger is also on the permanent menu on the La Brea Bakery table service part of the restaurant!

  • Starbucks

Here you’ll find all of the vegan options you would normally find at a Starbucks! My favorites are the Soy Vanilla Latte, or the Soy Hot Chocolate around Christmas time! I can’t go over all of the options here, but they have soy, almond, and coconut milk, and most of the drinks can be veganized with them! Just be careful of some of the syrups, with have dairy in them, for example the pumpkin spice. If you’re unsure, google “ordering vegan at Starbucks” and you’ll find some comprehensive lists.

Another one of my current favorites is the Iced Vanilla Bean Coconutmilk Latte! It’s vegan by default. Bring your own straw if you can! Starbucks is supposed to be switching to lids that don’t require straws, but as of this writing, they’re still giving out straws. I always bring my straw and spork with me to Disneyland so that I can avoid plastic straws and forks/spoons. If you’d like to get some, you can order stainless steels straws here and sporks here!

20180719_003202.jpg

  • Naples

They have a special allergy menu on request that marks what is vegetarian, vegan, and gluten free. The minestrone soup is vegan by default! They also have a pizza that is served with no cheese by default, the “Marinara e capperi,” with capers, garlic, oregano, and tomato sauce. I added mushrooms in this photo. It is super garlicky, so be prepared for that! I had my server double check on the pizza dough — it is vegan! — and the said that the veggies are sauteed in olive oil. Their “della casa” salad is also vegan by default, as well as the sides of roasted potatoes, sauteed spinach, and sauteed broccoli.

20180711_143859.jpg

The minestrone soup. Not a great photo because of the blue umbrellas that throw off the color, but it was quite a good soup!

20180711_144011.jpg

  • Sprinkles Cupcakes

There is one vegan flavor here — red velvet! It’s not the the display case, but just ask for the vegan red velvet and they will bring you one from the back. The cake is so moist and the frosting is amazing! I think it’s a coconut milk based frosting, it does have a bit of a coconut flavor to it. Super tasty!

20170324_191136.jpg

20170324_190939.jpg

  • Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen

This place is actually a lot more vegan-friendly than it may seem! The regular menu is very meat-based, but in the fine print it says “special dietary menu available on request.” This menu lists a “vegan plate” and a “vegan pasta.”

20180712_132244.jpg

This one is the vegan plate and it’s ridiculously delicious! I would definitely get it again. Asparagus, zucchini, potatoes, artichokes, bell peppers, onions, and broccolini:

IMG_20180712_140250_297.jpg

This is the vegan pasta and it’s also delicious! Penne pasta, tomato basil sauce, zucchini, artichoke hearts, garlic, spinach, onions, and bell pepper:

IMG_20180712_142923_654.jpg

  • Uva Bar and Café

Uva bar is the smaller and more casual part these two connected restaurants, Uva + Catal. At the Uva bar, there are a couple of options: sweet potato fries are vegan by default, guacamole with no cheese, and the modified chicken spinach salad — omit the chicken, cheese, and candied walnuts (they contain dairy). So the salad consists of spinach, cherry tomatoes, grapes, pumpkin seeds, and a balsamic dressing. It’s quite big, and along with the sweet potato fries, it was a lot of food! My server told me that the chips and fries are made in a separate fryer from the animal products.

IMG_20180716_155030_435.jpg

20180716_152051.jpg

  • Catal Restaurant

Catal is the upstairs portion of Uva, and it’s a lot fancier. The menu doesn’t have anything remotely modifiable, so they have a secret menu item for vegans and vegetarians: the vegan paella. It was so tasty, I would definitely get it again! Very filling and satisfying.

20180716_194256.jpg

  • Jamba Juice

Lots of vegan options at Jamba Juice! VegNews made a super helpful guide to vegan options here 🙂

  • Marceline’s Confectionary

There are quite a few vegan candies in packaging here, though none of the candies in the display case are vegan to my knowledge — we have to keep writing them emails to change that! Here are some photos of the vegan ones I could find. Please note that food dyes are kind of a gray area and do your own research to see if that’s something you’d like to avoid. Quite a few of the candies here have confectioner’s glaze (shellac, from beetles), or beeswax, so I didn’t take photos of those. Please note that some of these have palm oil as well.

20180712_144714.jpg

20180712_144723.jpg

20180712_144811.jpg

20180712_144807.jpg

20180712_144550.jpg

20180712_144603.jpg

20180712_144745.jpg

20180712_144740.jpg

20180722_111715.jpg

20180722_111709.jpg

20180722_111558.jpg

20180722_111554.jpg

20180722_111450.jpg

20180722_111442(0).jpg

20180712_144955.jpg

20180712_144946.jpg

20180712_145318.jpg

20180712_145325.jpg

20180712_145346.jpg

20180712_145339.jpg

20180712_145255.jpg

20180712_145303.jpg

20180712_145233.jpg

20180712_145240.jpg

20180712_145207.jpg

20180712_145213.jpg

20180712_145145.jpg

20180712_145133.jpg

20180712_145117.jpg

  • The Habit Food Truck

From now until September 3rd, 2018 (or perhaps longer), there are some food trucks parked at the end of Downtown Disney, where the closed Rainforest Café and movie theater are. The Habit has a vegan burger! The only modification needed is to leave off the sweet mustard sauce. The patty and wheat bun are vegan, as you can see in this PDF from the Habit’s website.

20180729_152411.jpg

  • Afters Ice Cream Truck

There is also an Afters Ice Cream truck from now until September 3rd, 2018 (or perhaps longer)! Their vegan flavor is mango.

20180729_144945.jpg

They also have tajín and chamoy if you would like to add that! Here is the ingredients list on the chamoy sauce:

20180729_145023.jpg

You can get it in a cup like this:

20180730_134044.jpg

Or you can get it as an ice cream sandwich in a milky bun! These milky buns are actually vegan, despite their name! At their normal stores, they have non-vegan and vegan milky buns, but the cast member told me that for this food truck, they only brought the vegan ones with them in order to be more allergy-friendly! Double check when you go, though, in case for some reason they bring the non-vegan ones at some point.

20180729_161729-01.jpeg

  • Sephora

There is quite a bit of vegan/cruelty-free makeup here! The cast member actually showed me a binder that they reference for the vegan brands!

20180729_144110.jpg

Kat von D and Milk are all-vegan companies.

20180714_141552.jpg

20180714_142308.jpg

Tarte is all cruelty-free with many vegan items. They label next to each product which ones are vegan.

20180729_143537.jpg

20180729_143603.jpg

20180729_143555.jpg

  • Curl Surf

Here you can get some vegan and cruelty-free sunscreen by Sun Bum! This is from the FAQ on their website:

“Most of our products are Vegan including our Original Sunscreen Lotions (SPF 15-50), Original Sunscreen Sprays, Mineral Sunscreen Collection, SPF Lip Balms, Cool Down lotions and sprays along with our extensive line of Baby Bum and Hair Care products.

Cocobalms, Tinted Lip Balms, Signature Lip Balm, Mineral Lip Balm and Baby Bum Diaper Rash Cream contain beeswax. We are currently working on a solution using synthetic beeswax. Our Blonde range of hair products uses natural Lehua Honey.”

20180716_161111.jpg

  • Coming soon: Ballast Point!

This is in the area where Build a Bear and Ridemakers used to be. As you can see on Barnivore, all of their current beers are vegan!  There are still entries for older beers that weren’t vegan, but it appears they aren’t making those any more.

20180711_131205.jpg

  • Coming soon: Black Tap Craft Burgers and Shakes!

This is in the area where Build a Bear and Ridemakers used to be. Their website lists a vegan burger, so we’ll have at least one new option here! Stay tuned!

20180622_135759.jpg

  • Coming soon: Salt and Straw!

This is the old Haagen Dasz location, and we’ll be getting a Salt and Straw, which is a small chain that has a few locations in California, Oregon, and Washington. Their website lists a few vegan options, so hopefully we will get some of those! Stay tuned!

20180711_131235.jpg

Those are all of the Downtown Disney options that I know about at the moment! Please also check out my other posts on the vegan options at Disneyland and vegan options at California Adventure!

Please let me know if this has been helpful and feel free to message me on Instagram (@happiestveganonearth) if you have any questions or would like advice planning your trip 🙂

 

4 comments

  1. I’ve heard before that Wetzel’s pretzels are vegan if you say no butter. But once I went to a location and was told that even with no butter, the pretzel would still have dairy. Do you have any info about this? Thanks! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was told the same thing, that’s why I didn’t include it here. I’ve heard mixed things! They only have a little cart right now since their normal store is under construction, and those are all pre-buttered in the cart, but once their normal location opens up again, I’ll go and ask again and see if I can get a photo of an ingredients list.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s