Welcome to Downtown Disney! Let’s eat some vegan food!
Note that menus and offerings at Downtown Disney change often, so this information here will go out of date at some point. Please check the main page of this blog (https://happiestveganonearth.com/) if you are reading this more than a couple of months in the future, and use the most current version of the blog post so that you have the most accurate info for your visit to the park 🙂
Please tag me on Instagram whenever you have photos of vegan food in Downtown Disney or notice anything new/different that I can update! 🙂
Table of Contents (Jump to a section!)
Asian Street Eats (Gone)
Black Tap Burgers and Shakes (Table service)
Ballast Point (Table service)
Salt and Straw (Quick service)
Wetzel’s Pretzels (Quick service)
Earl of Sandwich (Quick service)
Tortilla Jo’s (Table service)
Taqueria (Quick service side of Tortilla Jo’s)
Splitsville (Table service)
La Brea Bakery (Counter service)
Naples (Table service for Naples; Quick service for Napolini)
Sprinkles Cupcakes (Quick service)
Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen (Table service)
Uva Bar and Café (Table service)
Catal Restaurant (Table service)
Jamba Juice (Quick service)
Marceline’s Confectionary (Retail location)
Rinse Soap (Gone)
Sephora (Retail location)
Curl Surf (Retail location)
Asian Street Eats
Asian Street Eats is completely gone, unfortunately. I talked to a cast member today who used to work there and he said that there is no chance of it coming back.
They recently expanded a bit from their limited menu! There are a few more options.
Below is my favorite, the Vegan Nashville Hot Sandwich:
It comes with fries (in a shared fryer), but if preferred, you can get the house salad as a side instead.
I can tolerate a lot of spice, but this one actually took me close to my limit! My face was pretty much burning off, but in the best way possible.
You can also get a modified version of the Burger Salad (swipe to 2nd photo). Use the Nashville hot patty in place of the burger, and omit the cheese/bacon/special sauce, and ask for their vegan oil & vinegar dressing instead. This is a great option if you’re in the mood for a salad instead of a sandwich!
Also, they have an Impossible burger on the menu now, which is fairly recent! It is the Impossible All-American, and the menu says “available vegan upon request,” which will then come with a vegan bun and sauces. I haven’t gotten it yet, so I can’t tell you exactly what the vegan version entails, but please let me know if you get it!
The most exciting news is that they have brought back the Vegan Black ‘N White CakeShake! This epic shake was only there for a few months before March 2020, and it has taken quite a while to come back – I thought we had lost it forever! But then Black Tap posted on their instagram recently that it is back! It doesn’t list it on the menu yet, but it should be there if you ask for it!
It is a vegan chocolate milkshake with frosting and chocolate chips on the rim, topped with a giant piece of vegan chocolate cake and vegan whipped cream!
They also have the vegan version of their Classic Shakes on the menu. I have asked on different days and sometimes they tell me they have them, and sometimes they tell me they don’t.
You can order a shake from inside the restaurant as usual, or you can go up to their walk-up shake window outside the restaurant for a quick shake to take with you.
The vegan version of the shake is a soymilk based vegan ice cream. To order a vegan shake, ask for the vegan ice cream base on the Classic Shake, and then choose any flavor except for nutella (which has dairy). The vegan flavors are: coffee, vanilla, chocolate, black cherry, strawberry, caramel, peanut butter, and oreo cookies and cream.
Note that their lactose-free whipped cream that comes with the classic shakes is not vegan; it is merely lactose-free, but still contains dairy. I remember asking before if we could get the vegan whipped cream that comes on the Vegan Black ‘N White CakeShake, but to my knowledge, that was not an option.
Below is a classic shake with the Black Cherry flavor.
They currently have a limited version of their menu. Below is what is currently available.
Soyrizo and Roasted Cauliflower Tacos, which are vegan with no modifications:
The Impossible Lettuce Cups appetizer is vegan with no modifications:
I asked again about their Impossible Burger, and they still don’t have a vegan bun, so it has to be a lettuce wrap, and omit the sauce/cheese. I ordered it once just to see how it is, and it’s alright, but I’m not really into lettuce wraps, so I would recommend the tacos over this until they get a vegan bun:
The Bavarian Pretzel is now being served as pretzel bites instead, and you need to specify vegan when you order, i.e. no butter on the pretzel bites, and normally it comes with a cheese dip and a mustard dip. The mustard is vegan, and you can either just omit the cheese dip, or you can substitute the chipotle tofu aioli (which normally comes on the tacos) instead of the cheese. Thanks to @leathercouch73 for the updated info and photo!
There used to be a burrito that could be modified (Cali Steak Burrito) by substituting Impossible meat for the carne asada, but that burrito didn’t make it onto the limited menu, so that substitution can’t happen right now unfortunately.
Salt and Straw
Salt and Straw is a Portland based ice cream company with lots of vegan flavors! They are all marked clearly on the menu with a (V).
The two vegan flavors on the permanent menu are:
1. Strawberry & Coconut Water Sherbet
2. Freckled Mint Tcho-colate Chip (new name: Mint Chip with Theo Chocolate)
Below is a scoop of the Freckled Mint Tcho-colate Chip from the permanent menu:
Below is the Strawberry & Coconut Water Sherbet from the permanent menu:
The Dandelion Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies and Cream, below, used to be on the permanent menu, and was included in the January Vegandulgence series. It has secretly been available on and off throughout the past couple of months, so go ahead and ask them when you’re there and you may get lucky!
The sugar cones, which are pictured in all of these photos, are vegan. They are also sometimes called kid’s cones. The waffle cones (the larger ones) are not vegan; they contain egg.
You can also get scoops in a cup, as seen above.
They have seasonal flavors that rotate about once a month, and there is usually at least one vegan flavor among the seasonal flavors! Check my instagram for the most recent into about the ever-changing seasonal flavors.
Wetzel’s menu appears to be the same from before the closure. The original pretzels are vegan as far as the dough goes, but they typically brush them with butter when they come out of the oven. Not to worry though — they make new batches frequently, so all you have to do is request to have one without butter, and they’ve give you one from the next batch if you can wait for a minute or two.
The Pretzel Bitz without the butter are also vegan:
Earl of Sandwich
Earl of Sandwich’s menu appears to be the same as before the closure. Two of their sandwiches are easy to veganize:
1. Caprese: Omit the cheese, and add avocado if desired. Say “avocado instead of cheese” and they shouldn’t charge you extra.
2. Veggie sandwich: Omit the cheese and dressing and it’s vegan!
The white (default) bread is vegan, but the wheat bread contains honey.
Tortilla Jo’s has a limited version of their menu currently. Note that the Tableside Guacamole is not currently available, but they can make it in the kitchen for you.
They still have the Vegetarian Burrito on the menu, which is still vegan by default. It has house made quinoa meatballs, black beans, roasted tomatoes, poblano peppers, and red onion, topped with salsa ranchera and served with cilantro rice.
They can also make an off-menu vegan version of their fajitas with their grilled veggies (onions, peppers, zucchini, etc.), black beans, cilantro rice, etc. They used to have a portobello mushroom version of the fajitas, but those are not on the the menu anymore.
And they can make an off-menu vegan version of their enchiladas that are filled with those same veggies. I had the server verify with the chef that the green enchilada sauce is indeed vegan, doesn’t contain chicken stock or any other lurking animal products:
Just for reference if you want to get any sides or modify any menu items, the server told me that the red rice is made in chicken stock, and the refried beans contain lard. So the vegan alternatives to those are the cilantro lime rice and the black beans.
Taqueria (quick service side of Tortilla Jo’s)
This reopened recently! You can build your own tacos, burritos, bowls, or nachos, sort of Chipotle-style.
Choose one of those types: tacos, burritos, bowl, or nachos.
Choose your Protein: quinoa meatballs, which are labeled on the app menu as vegan now.
Choose your Fillings: beans (just make sure to do the black beans, not the refried beans, which contain lard), lettuce, onion-cilantro, and pico de gallo.
Choose your Toppings: salsa verde and guacamole. The salsa roja contains chicken stock.
So exciting that Splitsville has reopened! I even saw people bowling in there too!
Here’s the lowdown on what’s vegan at Splitsville. The most obvious option is their Impossible Burger, where you just have to request no cheese and no special sauce to make it vegan.
The Veggie Roll is another solid choice. Make sure to specify vegan to your server, i.e. omit pickled radish, and you may substitute avocado instead. Make sure to get the regular ponzu sauce instead of the kimchi ponzu sauce, which contains fish.
Another good one is the Spicy Veggie Bowl. Make sure you’re getting the regular ponzu sauce instead of the kimchi ponzu and tataki; both of those contain fish.
La Brea Bakery
La Brea Bakery has reopened as of 2/17/2021! Their menu is divided into brunch/lunch, but all of their items are available at all times of day. Below are menu photos for your reference, and you can also view the menu on La Brea Bakery’s website.
The vegan entree is a modified version of the La Brea Bakery Burger. Normally you can choose between their house made veggie patty and an Impossible patty, but this day they didn’t have the veggie patty available, just Impossible. Here are the modifications:
- Choose either Impossible patty, or the veggie patty if available
- Change bread – the normal bun isn’t vegan, so ask for the telera bread instead
- Remove cheese and mayo, and sub avocado. They were very nice to not charge me extra for avocado that day!
- Vegan side options are fries, yam chips (both of those in a shared fryer), mixed green salad with a balsamic vinaigrette, or fruit (pictured below).
One tip – they asked me how I would like my burger cooked. I am not often asked that so I wasn’t entirely prepared! Also, I have had so many overdone Impossible burgers in my day, that I decided to ask for “medium rare” to try to compensate for that. It turns out that the chefs at La Brea Bakery are not playing around! They really did it medium rare, which is why it’s quite pink here! If you ask for medium, of course, it won’t be as pink as in this photo.
I was not expecting the double patty, that was very generous of them! Along with the generous portion of avocado. It was huge, I was glad I got the fruit instead of the fries as a side. Overall, very well executed Impossible burger! Much better than the Impossible burger that they have at Smokejumper’s Grill obviously!
A few more vegan items to note – they have Nancy’s Fancy Gelato, and two of the flavors (Coconut Stracciatella and Chocolate Fondente) are labeled as vegan:
They also have a brunch special currently, an Avocado Toast that could theoretically be veganized by removing egg, shrimp, etc, but it might not be worth the price ($19) after you remove the most expensive parts of it.
Also, they have almond milk available if you are getting a coffee.
Both Starbucks locations in Downtown Disney are now reopened and serving their full assortment of many different coffee drinks with soy, oat, almond, or coconut milk.
Naples (Table Service) / Napolini (Quick Service)
Naples has reopened with a limited menu. I haven’t been back yet, but I have a photo of the menu board here, followed by info about those items before the closure. Since I haven’t been back yet, you can tell it’s pretty far down on my list of the good vegan food in Downtown Disney.
The current menu board:
The minestrone soup, bruschetta, panini alla verdure, and vegetable sides appear to not be on the limited menu.
You can still veganize the pizza by asking for no cheese, extra sauce, and toppings of your choice. The photo below is a pizza with eggplant, artichokes, black olives, and arugula:
They still have the Della Casa Salad, which is pictured here with added chickpeas:
If they bring out bread before your meal, make sure to double check that it’s vegan, but last time I was there, they had two vegan breads – the ciabatta bread on left, pizza dough bread on right:
Napolini is the quick service side of Naples, and they reopened recently. You can get a pizza with no cheese and your choice of toppings. Here is the menu board to give you an idea of what toppings are available:
Sprinkles has recently reopened! They have one vegan flavor, the Vegan Red Velvet. It is delicious and I highly recommend.
Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen
Their limited menu still has their Impossible Burger, which was added relatively recently. Here is the current menu board (it is the same for lunch and dinner):
Before the closure, they were using different buns entirely, so I had to switch out the bun on the previous version. But I asked again this time and had the server verify with the chef that the bun contains no egg, dairy, or honey, and the default bun is actually vegan now, so there is no need to switch the bun.
You do have to omit the aioli, which contains egg. So that is the only modification to make, just ask for the Impossible Burger with no aioli.
The fries are in a shared fryer, so switch them out for another side if you prefer (salad, veggies, etc).
They also have a Vegan Pasta that has been on their special diets menu for quite some time. Currently it’s described on the menu as “Spinach fettuccine tossed with peppers, onions, oven-roasted tomatoes, baby arugula, zucchini, yellow squash, olive oil, tomato basil sauce.”
I got this one quite a while back, so this photo might not look exactly how they are making it now, but it gives you a general idea:
They can also make an off-menu vegan version of their jambalaya, which I haven’t had yet, but I’ve seen it around! Will get as soon as I can.
They have a full bar, so they can make lots of cocktails and things. I got a virgin mint julep there for the first time and it was very refreshing! Quite different from the ones in Disneyland – less sweet and more fizzy. No cherry, though.
The Express side of the Jazz Kitchen just has a couple of items, nothing remotely veganizable unfortunately. They have a few drinks though, e.g. the virgin mint julep. Maybe one day they will have vegan beignets like they do at the Port Orleans Resort at Walt Disney World!
Uva Bar and Café
Uva, along with Naples, is the last restaurant I haven’t been back to since the reopening, so you can tell that they are also pretty far down on my list. Here is the current menu board:
This menu seems to change often. Right now they have the “Veggie Burger,” which was actually called the “Vegan Burger” for a while, but then changed back to the Veggie Burger.
Below is the current version of their Veggie Burger. It has had many iterations over the years, and the current version can be made vegan by switching the bun (contains eggs and dairy) for a lettuce wrap, and omitting the special sauce. At some point this patty had egg in it, but it does not now. Make sure to verify all of this with your server again though, since this place changes so often!
It is a veggie patty that is made mostly of quinoa and beans and it’s quite tasty! It also comes with tomato and caramelized onions.
By default it comes with sweet potato fries, and you could also get garlic fries or a salad as a side. The fries are in a dedicated fryer.
They also still have the trio of Mediterranean dips on the menu. It comes with pita bread that isn’t vegan, but you can easily substitute more cucumbers for dipping. This is the same as before the reopening.
Also, two of their salads can be easily modified to be vegan. The watermelon salad and the manchego salad, omit the cheese.
Watermelon Salad, omit the feta cheese:
Sweet potato fries with ketchup:
Catal has reopened, and I haven’t been able to visit myself yet, but previously they had an off-menu vegan paella. Ask for it and they should know what you’re talking about. It’s quite tasty!
Jamba Juice has reopened with what appears to be their full menu.
at are vegan by default, i.e. the following smoothies in the “Plant-Based” section of their menu:
Apples ‘n Greens
Smooth Talkin’ Mango
Greens ‘n Ginger
Vanilla Blue Sky
Protein Berry Workout
They also have smoothie bowls, which are smoothies with toppings such as granola, berries, chia seeds, and nuts. The following bowls are vegan without modifications:
Vanilla Blue Sky Bowl
Peachy Green Goodness Bowl
Nutty Almond Butter Bowl
Many of the other smoothies can be veganized with a substitution or two as well! For example, omit the Greek yogurt and swap it for oat milk.
Here is the Vanilla Blue Sky, which is unsweetened almond milk, vanilla coconut milk, bananas, pineapples, and blue spirulina:
They also added a breakfast sandwich with an Impossible patty recently. You have to remove the cheese and egg, but the bread is vegan, so it’s still feasible. I haven’t got it myself yet, but here you can see it on the menu board:
Marceline’s Confectionary (Candy Shop)
The vegan options tend to rotate out quite a bit, but in general you will get a variety of allergy-friendly Enjoy Life treats and some other things. Below, the Cinnamon Swirl Mini Rice Crisps, the pretzels, the Roasted Nut Mix, the Crunchy Spicy Mix, and the Fruit and Nut Mix are all vegan. See each ingredients list below:
Also, keep an eye out for these Enjoy Life treats that are sometimes there:
And of course these lollipops, which are almost always there:
Rinse has unfortunately ended their time in Downtown Disney and it appears they are not going to return.
There is quite a bit of vegan and cruelty-free makeup and skincare here. Last time I was in there, they told me I wasn’t allowed to take photos, so unfortunately I can’t give you a very detailed update on what is currently available. But Sephora’s website will tell you whether any given product is vegan.
I looked into Curl Surf quickly and saw that they do still stock the vegan sunscreen Sun Bum. Most of Sun Bum’s products are vegan, just look for the word vegan on the label.
That’s going to do it for now! I’ll update this post whenever I get more info. If you go to Disneyland, DCA, or Downtown Disney and have any photos of the food, please tag me on Instagram!
I hope to see you in the park real soon!
If you’re looking for vegan options in other parts of the Disneyland Resort, please see my most recently updated Complete Guides for those: