Your Guide to Vegan Options at Disneyland – January 2019 Update

Welcome to Disneyland! Let’s eat some vegan food!

These are the options to the best of my knowledge as of January 2019. Please be aware that I try to update as thoroughly as I can, but the food options change regularly at Disneyland, so the information becomes out of date at some point. Please contact me if you find that something has changed and that a previously vegan item is no longer vegan so that I can update the post! 🙂 Messaging me on Instagram (@happiestveganonearth) is the quickest way to contact me.

Table of Contents (Jump to a section!)

  • Carnation Café (Main Street, U.S.A.)

This place is great for breakfast, lunch, and dinner!

Ask your server for the vegan Mickey waffles and vegan pancakes! It is the “allergy” version, so they are also gluten free. They can also make you roast potatoes and soy lattes, or bring you soy milk to go with your coffee 🙂

20170608_104525.jpg

20170326_135236.jpg

20170608_100839.jpg

For lunch and dinner, they have the Chef’s Vegan Burger (yes, it says the V word on the menu!!) — which is really tasty!20180803_220856.jpg The fries are in a shared fryer, so ask for fruit as a substitute if you’re not down with that!

As of this writing (January 12, 2019), there is a Vegan Sloppy Joe on the specials menu! It is super delicious and I highly recommend you get it if you are at Carnation Cafe in the near future!

IMG_20181121_122708_622.jpg

  • Plaza Inn (Main Street, U.S.A.)

This has the same vegan options for breakfast as the Carnation Cafe, but it’s quite different because it’s a character dining buffet, so the characters wander around while you eat and you can take photos with them. Minnie is always there, and then an assortment of other characters — I have seen Captain Hook, Winnie the Pooh, Tigger, Eeyore, Max Goof, Rafiki, and Fairy Godmother recently.

The vegan waffles aren’t on the buffet, so you just ask your server and they will have the chef make you a batch of them. It’s a buffet, so don’t be shy about flagging them down and asking for more!

20170403_191901-01.jpeg

There are some fruit toppings at the buffet, like this strawberry topping:

20170402_092445-01.jpeg

And most importantly, coffee and potatoes!

20170402_091657.jpg

For lunch/dinner, there is pasta with marinara sauce — omit the cheese. The cast members were unsure about the breadstick ingredients, so they offered me applesauce or carrots instead. It’s not very impressive, but if the rest of your party really wants to eat there, you can certainly get a full belly here!

20180723_114828.jpg

  • Jolly Holiday (Main Street, U.S.A.)

Here you can get the Grilled Veggie and Whole Grain Salad, described on the menu: “Seasonal Vegetables, Mixed Greens, Barley, Spelt, with Basil Vinaigrette served with a fresh Breadstick.”

Make sure to ask for no breadstick, as it has cheese baked onto it. They can substitute their house-made chips. The chef told me that the veggies are cooked in oil, but they can’t guarantee 100% that there isn’t cross-contamination within the kitchen.

The dressing is vegan, no need to substitute!

IMG_20180928_123224_011.jpg

They also have soy/almond milk to make lattes with!

IMG_20170712_134439_345.jpg

  • Starbucks (Market House, Main Street, USA)

Halfway down Main Street is a Starbucks that has all of the vegan options you would normally find at a Starbucks! My favorite is a Soy Vanilla Latte, or a Soy Hot Chocolate around Christmas time! I can’t go over all of the options here, but they have soy, almond, and coconut milk, and most of the drinks can be veganized with them! Just be careful of some of the syrups, with have dairy in them, for example the pumpkin spice. If you’re unsure, google “ordering vegan at Starbucks” and you’ll find some comprehensive lists. Luckily the hot chocolate doesn’t have dairy in the syrup/powder, so you can get this beauty to sip on while watching the fireworks!

IMG_20171211_094621_732.jpg

  • Tropical Hideaway (Adventureland)

This place just opened in December 2018 and it is beautiful! Here is a summary of the vegan options:

– Dole whips in three flavors: pineapple, orange, and raspberry
– Dole whip float: Pineapple juice with any flavor dole whip
– Loaded Whip: Any flavor dole whip topped with toasted coconut, crystallized hibiscus, pineapple pieces, tangerines, and jackfruit. Omit the pocky cookie sticks to make it vegan.
– Ramen noodle salad: Vegan as-is, as long as they’re not using egg noodles — it has switched back and forth within the first few days of opening. Make sure to read the ingredients list on the cup and look for eggs.
– Hippeas in two flavors: vegan white cheddar and sriracha sunshine
– Plantain chips
– Trail mix by Truly Good Foods
– Salt and Vinegar Lays
– Whole fruit: apples, bananas, oranges, pineapple spears, etc.
– Blue Sky sodas, Zico coconut water, orange juice, etc.

The chefs showed me the binder with the ingredients lists of the bao buns — the dough contains milk unfortunately 😦

This is the Loaded Whip with pineapple/raspberry! You can choose any flavor of dole whip for your ambush, and then just say “no pocky sticks.”

20181219_113837-01.jpeg

20181219_113204.jpg

20181219_113213.jpg

Ramen Shaker Salad (yes, I brought my own bowl because I wanted to be fancy!):

20181220_113752-02.jpeg

Here is the ingredients list as of December 20, 2018. Please read it thoroughly before buying, since there has also been a version of it with egg in it!

20181220_112912.jpg

20181220_112921.jpg

20181219_114130.jpg

Each part of the plastic cup has the recycling symbol, so please put it in the mixed recycling bins throughout the park when you’re done 🙂 They also sell reusable plastic sporks in the Tropical Hideaway. I always bring my steel spork or a spoon from home with me whenever I’m at the park, because I almost always have a dole whip and and I like to avoid the plastic utensils, especially since they’re not recyclable.

Orange + pineapple swirl — the colors aren’t that different, but hopefully you can distinguish them!

20181221_121959.jpg

20181219_113354.jpg

The Hippeas and Lays in the photo above are vegan. Watch out  for the Maui style chips though, they contain milk!

20181219_113400.jpg

Sriracha Sunshine Hippeas ingredients:

20181219_113426.jpg

20181219_113441.jpg

20181219_203310.jpg

20181219_133341.jpg

20181219_133316.jpg

20181221_130101.jpg

  • Tiki Juice Bar (Adventureland)

Yes, dole whips are vegan! You can see the ingredients lists for all of their flavors on the Dole website.

At the Tiki Juice Bar, you can get a pineapple Dole Whip (just the soft serve), a Dole Float (with pineapple juice), or a pineapple spear. If you’re into spicy, ask for a packet of tajín and the cast member will be happy to give you one!

IMG_20180127_112902_822.jpg

IMG_20170523_221403_807.jpg

Here is the ingredients list on the cherries that they use:

20180609_194239.jpg

You can also get the version with rum at the Disneyland Hotel — in the coffee shop near the pool. Get this early, as they close earlier during the off season, at 4pm last I checked!

IMG_20161220_171756_506.jpg

  • Overnight Oats (Tropical Imports, Adventureland)

Recently I spotted these overnight oats in Adventureland! At the snack stand across from the Jungle Cruise. They put them out in the morning and they usually sell out in the early afternoon.

20181026_202818-02.jpeg

20181027_085158.jpg

  • Bengal Barbecue (Adventureland)

They do veggie skewers here, but they are on a shared grill. Normally I’m not too concerned about shared kitchens, but in this case, it’s all in the open and I can actually see it happening, and that makes me lose my appetite. By all means get them if it doesn’t bother you to see it! I do like to get this Jungle Julep, though! It’s a slush of grape, orange, lemon, and pineapple juice, with grenadine. Super refreshing!

20180928_223821.jpg

Bengal Barbecue also does a hummus plate, but it’s pre-made and one of them has cheese in it.

  • Rancho del Zocalo (Frontierland)

This is probably the most vegan-friendly restaurant in Disneyland! The tacos, burritos, and tostada salad can be modified to be vegan. They recently added these cauliflower tacos with avocado pasilla crema and I enjoyed them very much! The chef showed me the ingredients for the marinade they use for the cauliflower. He also said that he knew the recipe for the avocado pasilla crema by heart: it’s just avocados, pasilla peppers, and tofu (!) — and he assured me that there were no dairy or eggs in it. Lately the chefs have been saying conflicting things about this, though, so please double check about the avocado sauce when you order.

20181005_211635.jpg

The marinade:

20181005_130234.jpg

My favorite on the menu is the tostada salad! It doesn’t look like much, but on the bottom there is a huge layer of refried beans, so it’s very filling. I usually can’t finish it all! The crunchy shell is heavenly. Ask for extra guacamole and grilled veggies — they’ve always been happy to do that for me since I said no cheese/no meat.

The crispy chips in bags are all vegan as well — the cinnamon and limón ones.

IMG_20170715_200106_031.jpg

They also have these fruit cups, very refreshing!

20180126_122009.jpg

20180126_122017.jpg

  • Hungry Bear (Critter Country)

They recently added the Beyond Burger to the menu here! Very exciting! It’s sloppy-joe style with stewed vegetables on top. The chef verified with me that the bread is free of dairy, honey, and eggs.

20181104_115236-02.jpeg

IMG_20181101_205236_709.jpg

They also have this Watermelon slushie, which I very much enjoyed! Just say “no whip cream” to make it vegan:

20181104_200308.jpg

  • Royal Street Veranda (New Orleans Square)

It says “vegetarian gumbo” on the menu board, but it’s actually vegan, according to cast members when I checked again on January 10, 2019.

The gumbo served in a vegan sourdough bread bowl, but there have been times when they ran out and gave it to me in a french bread bowl, and that is also vegan. I have heard that sometimes they brush the bread with butter — this is rare, but ask to double check in case they are doing that on the day you are there.

20170109_163407.jpg

I highly recommend the mint juleps as well! I asked whether there was honey or any other sneaky animal products in it, and they showed me the ingredients list — it’s vegan 🙂

This photo is from when I was still using plastic cutlery at Disneyland, but now I have my own stainless steel straw, spork, and cloth napkin that I bring with me. Disneyland isn’t the most eco-friendly place, but we can make small changes to improve it!

  • River Belle Terrace (New Orleans Square)

This is a table service restaurant and reservations are recommended during peak times, like weekends, summers, and holidays. You might get a table as a walk in, but if you’re certain you want to eat here, make a reservation!

For breakfast, there isn’t anything vegan on the regular menu. On the secret menu they have had vegan pancakes in the past, but it appears that it has changed and that they don’t have the vegan pancakes anymore. This is very unfortunate, but maybe if we keep asking about it, they will bring back the vegan ones! Here is a photo from shortly after they debuted the new breakfast menu and still had the vegan pancakes:

20180923_102708-01.jpeg

Your best bet here for lunch and dinner is the BBQ Tofu! You can either get it as part of the River Belle’s Chopped Salad, or as an entree with 2 sides. The tofu is normally cooked in a shared fryer, but they are happy to bake it separately for you if you ask.

The sides are steamed veggies or tater tots (in shared fryer). There used to be a vegan cole slaw with a vinegar based sauce, but now it’s with mayo, so no longer vegan.

Displaying 20170103_125529.jpg

Displaying 20170103_123144.jpg

I think I prefer the salad version now — ask for the Chopped Salad with tofu, and then switch the ranch dressing for the apple vinaigrette instead. It normally comes with fried onions, and they’re in the shared fryer as well, but there is no egg batter or anything like that, so that’s just a matter of how you feel about shared fryers.

20180806_094204-02.jpeg

20170107_105706.jpg

  • French Market (New Orleans Square)

Here you can get the veggie jambalaya, which is off-menu, but if you ask, they will bring you some! It’s pretty good, but for me, I’d rather have the gumbo, so I don’t get this very often. It’s not a huge portion, so if you’re very hungry, I would suggest getting a fruit plate as well.

IMG_20181019_151331_787.jpg

  • Mint Julep Bar (New Orleans Square)

This place only serves Mint Juleps (virgin), beignets, and sometimes some seasonal desserts. Unfortunately they don’t have vegan beignets here like they do at Walt Disney World. I keep asking, but as of January 2019, there are no alternative beignets for allergies or anything, just the one type. The mint juleps are of course vegan though 🙂

20181005_195455.jpg

  • Café Orleans (New Orleans Square)

This is a table service restaurant, so reservations are a good idea during peak times.

You can get the house salad with no cheese and no candied pecans (dairy), the pommes frites with no cheese and switch the sauce for ketchup.

The vegan entree is the Vegetable Bolognese. The menu doesn’t say anything about cheese (it just says “Zucchini, Yellow Squash, Eggplant, and Ratatouille Sauce,” but it’s a good idea to say “no cheese” just in case, since this is the sort of dish I could see having random cheese on top of it!

IMG_20181029_073612_035.jpg

These are the Pommes Frites (omit the parmesan, and switch the mayo-based remoulade sauce for ketchup), or the Salade de Maison — ask for the allergy version of this salad on the special Allergy Menu.

20180807_130314.jpg

  • Blue Bayou (New Orleans Square)

There is nothing vegan on the menu, but the chef will make you a pasta dish if you ask. There is a vegetarian pasta dish with egg noodles and cheese on the menu, so this is with different noodles and some added veggies. It tastes great, but it’s $30 and doesn’t really seem to match that price point. That is the case with everything on the menu, though — even meat-eaters say that this restaurant isn’t the best — you’re the for the ambiance, not for the food. If you do want to eat here, a reservation is a must, as it’s always booked.

20180719_132345(1).jpg

They do have vegan dessert options, which is quite nice! They have several sorbet flavors and it depends which day you’re there — when I went, they had mango, kiwi, and pear, so I went with the pear:

20180719_131956(1).jpg

  • Red Rose Taverne (Fantasyland)

They recently changed the veggie sandwich here, and I like the new version much better! It used to be a plain cauliflower steak (Enchanted Cauliflower Sandwich), but now it’s the Enchanted Crispy Samosa Sandwich, which is a handmade patty of roasted cauliflower, potatoes, and peas, and lettuce, tomato compote, and a vegan curry mayo. I had the chef double check on the onion roll bread that it comes on, and she said that it is free of dairy, egg, and honey. These modifications are needed:

  • Omit fried green beans (they are in an egg batter, same as the earlier version of this sandwich)
  • Replace the Pommes Frites (they have cheese) for regular fries

20181005_114137.jpg

20181005_110908.jpg

They also have breakfast here, and there is one dish that can be veganized — the Garden Vegetable Hash, which is described on the menu as “Mushrooms, Sun-dried Tomatoes, Kale, Taverne Potatoes, Lemon Béchamel Sauce and a Baked Egg served with a Petit Croissant.” So you have to remove the sauce, egg, and croissant. The potatoes and veggies are sauteed in oil. It’s alright, but kind of pricy for what you’re getting after the modifications. They need to add some tofu in there!

IMG_20180210_104833_201.jpg

  • Maurice’s Treats (Fantasy Faire, near the castle)

There are some frozen lemonade drinks here that are vegan! My favorite is the Rose lemonade!

20170518_172824-01-01.jpeg

 

  • Redd Rockett’s Pizza Port / Alien Pizza Planet (Tomorrowland)

***Update on the crust, 2/7/19: This pizza is made on a personal sized gluten free crust, which for years leading up to this point has also been vegan. In the last few days, chefs have informed guests that this crust now contains eggs. Because these are made to order, they cannot do it on the regular crust, and that means that it’s not possible to make a vegan pizza at the moment. The chefs have said that they are working on getting back the vegan and gluten free crust, but for the moment, it still has eggs. I’ll be checking once a week or so to see when/if they change it.***

This is very similar to Boardwalk Pizza and Pasta in California Adventure. You can ask them to make you a personal pizza with vegan cheese (Daiya), or to put vegan cheese on top of your pasta. It’s not on the menu, it’s a secret, so you have to ask for it.

20180708_172848-02.jpeg

Terra Nova Vegetable Pasta — ask for no parmesan, and replace with daiya mozzarella.

20180916_181958-01.jpeg

This photo is from DCA, but it’s the same pizza in Tomorrowland. They make this to order, so it will take an extra 10 minutes or so, but it’s worth it!

Sometimes the chefs refuse to add veggies to the top of the vegan pizzas, citing allergy/contamination reasons. I have always had success at Boardwalk Pizza and Pasta (DCA) getting veggies on top, but at Pizza Port/Pizza Planet in Tomorrowland, they just do the plain daiya cheese pizzas with no veggies, it seems.

  • Galactic Grill (Tomorrowland)

They have a veggie wrap on the menu here that always seemed promising, but the problem is that they are made off-site and the cheese is already in them, so they can’t make them without the cheese. They do have veggie burgers on the secret menu though. It’s a vegan Gardenburger patty and the regular vegan buns they use throughout the park. The fries are in a dedicated (non-shared) fryer!

20180708_181835-03.jpeg

  • Mickey Pretzels, Popcorn, Pickles, Fruit (Snack carts throughout the parks)

IMG_20170706_163942_203.jpg

The Mickey Pretzels are vegan! Just make sure to get the version without the cheese sauce. Get some mustard packets instead!

Recently I was able to get my hands on the ingredients list for the pretzels, please note that they do have palm oil, if that’s something you avoid.

IMG_20180722_140705_455.jpg

The popcorn is vegan too! It’s with oil instead of butter. Please see the ingredients list below.

20180916_160807-01.jpeg

20190110_152243.jpg

I like to bring a little tupperware of nutritional yeast and sprinkle it on top of my popcorn! I leave a trail of yellow pixie dust behind me 😉

IMG_20170506_123646_409.jpg

20180916_165021.jpg

20180916_165015.jpg

And of course the pickles you’ll find at the fruit stands! Another perfect opportunity to sprinkle some tajín on there!

IMG_20170530_141551_692.jpg

I also spotted these Japanese peanuts at the snack carts recently!

20190110_154310.jpg

20190110_154319.jpg
The churros, however, are not vegan:

20190110_151007.jpg

  • Dark Chocolates “Snacks with Character” throughout the parks

You can find these bagged dark chocolates at the candy shop on Main Street and Pooh’s Corner, as well as the candy shop on Buena Vista Street in California Adventure, and World of Disney in Downtown Disney. The two vegan options are the non-pareils and the cocoa dusted almonds. Wouldn’t it be great if Disneyland could commit to using only fair-trade chocolate? I wrote them an email to encourage them to do that. If you have a moment, please write them an email to let them know that you’d love the chocolate to be fair-trade!

20180609_213313.jpg

20180609_213320.jpg

20180609_213343.jpg

20180609_213349.jpg

At these locations with the chocolates, you can find various “Snacks with Character,” which I think are mostly repackaged Enjoy Life products that are made for people with allergies. Look for the “Snacks with Character” and you’ll be able to see which ones are labelled “vegan,” like these chips:

20180924_200836.jpg

20180712_144550.jpg

20180712_144603.jpg

20180712_144955.jpg

20180712_144946.jpg

20180712_145105.jpg

20180712_145117.jpg

20180712_145128.jpg

20180712_145133.jpg

20180712_145145.jpg

20180712_145207.jpg

20180712_145213.jpg

20180712_145233.jpg

20180712_145240.jpg

20180712_145255.jpg

20180712_145303.jpg

  • Olaf’s Strawberry Lemonade Bar (Ice Cream Carts throughout the parks)

20180630_093353.jpg

20170109_135751.jpg

20161127_135213.jpg

Those are all of the Disneyland options that I know about at the moment! Please check out my other most recently updated comprehensive guides:

Your Guide to Vegan Options at Disney California Adventure – January 2019 Update

Your Guide to Vegan Options at Downtown Disney – January 2019 Update

Please let me know if this has been helpful and feel free to message me on Instagram (@happiestveganonearth) if you have any questions or would like advice planning your trip 🙂

7 comments

  1. We tried the cauliflower tacos and the tostada salad at Ranch del Zocalo. WOW. That place has come a long way. I remember eating there a few years ago and I thought it was terrible, so we haven’t been back. The cauliflower tacos are out of control and the tostada was delicious. Even the cinnamon crisps taste better than last time. Yum. Thanks for the recommendation. Our new favorite meal at Disneyland!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, that’s so true! Rancho is one of the oldest restaurants in Disneyland, it’s been there since the days when most of the food in Disneyland was pretty lackluster, haha. They’ve really come so far! Everyone I know who has tried those tacos has loved them 🙂

      Like

    1. Hi Amy! Many of them are pre-mixed and then sometimes they are impossible to veganize (Pizza port’s noodle salad for example, pre-mixed with a fish sauce), but sometimes you can take off the meat and cheese and make them vegan. Sometimes it’s a problem that they don’t have any vegan dressings available, it just depends on the locations. I didn’t include too many modified salad options in my guide because sometimes it seems like they’re not a good value for the price once they take things off and won’t add anything. Which location are you thinking of?

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s