Complete Guide to Vegan Options in Downtown Disney! (January 2020 Update)

Welcome to Downtown Disney! Let’s eat some vegan food!

These are the options to the best of my knowledge as of January 2020. Please be aware that I update as thoroughly as I can, but the food options change often at the Disneyland Resort, so the information becomes out of date at some point. Please check the main page of this blog ( if you are reading this more than a couple of months in the future, and use the most current version of the blog post so that you have the most accurate info for your visit to the park 🙂

Please contact me if you find that something has changed and that a previously vegan item is no longer vegan so that I can update the post! Messaging me on Instagram (@happiestveganonearth) is the quickest way to contact me.

Table of Contents (Jump to a section!)

Asian Street Eats
Black Tap Burgers and Shakes
Ballast Point
Salt and Straw
Wetzel’s Pretzels
Earl of Sandwich
Tortilla Jo’s
La Brea Bakery (Express)
Sprinkles Cupcakes
Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen
Uva Bar and Café
Catal Restaurant
LA Ice / Italian Ice
Jamba Juice
Marceline’s Confectionary
Rinse Soap
Curl Surf

  • Asian Street Eats by Chef Hung Huynh (Quick Service)

This is the newest addition to Downtown Disney! It’s located in front of the shuttered Rainforest Cafe. The inside of Rainforest Cafe has been gutted, so there is little to no chance of it returning, and Asian Street Eats has been built in front of it. I don’t have any word on how long it is likely to stay — it is more permanent than a food truck, but I imagine this area will have to change eventually. For now, I’m going to eat as many of these Scallion Pancake Wraps as I can!


Pictured above is the Scallion Pancake Wrap with tofu. Note that is made on a shared grill, though they clean it frequently. The chef assured me that the pancake wrap’s ingredients do not contain any dairy, eggs, meat, or honey. Just make sure to order it with tofu and omit the sriracha aioli (contains egg).

Then we have the Mixed Bowl with tofu:


The bowl comes with purple rice or mixed greens, a bunch of veggies, tofu, and a side of sauce. Here is a rundown of the sauce ingredients:

  • Teriyaki: vegan
  • Spicy teriyaki: vegan
  • Sesame Citrus Soy: vegan
  • Spicy Avocado: contains honey
  • Miso honey: contains honey
  • Sriracha aioli: contains egg

Then we have the vegetable potstickers. They are mostly mushrooms! The dough and everything else about them is vegan, as well was the ginger soy sauce they come with, so there are no modifications necessary:


Here is the menu board for your reference:


I also made a Youtube video with taste tests of each of these if you’d like to know how they taste in more detail:


They didn’t have ingredients lists available for everything, but here is what I was able to get — the potstickers:


And the Teriyaki sauce:



  • Black Tap Craft Burgers and Shakes (Order at counter and they bring the food to your table. Reservations not necessary)

Below is the menu for your reference followed a summary of what’s vegan here.



First we’ll look at the newest addition to the Black Tap menu, the Vegan Black ‘N White Cakeshake that they debuted on February 1, 2020:



They hadn’t reprinted the menus fully on that first day with the new shake, so you won’t see it on the full menus above, but it should be added there very soon. It is a permanent menu item. They did put up these small menu boards near the registers:


It is a soymilk base chocolate shake with an almond milk based whipped cream, chocolate drizzle, a vanilla frosting rim with mini chocolate chips, topped with a slice of black ‘n white cake.

It is at least 2 desserts in one — I would suggest sharing between at least 2, possibly 3 people.

They can actually make a vegan version of their Classic Shakes as well. You can order a shake from inside the restaurant as usual, or you can actually go up to their walk-up shake window outside the restaurant for a quick shake to take with you.

The vegan version of the shake is a soymilk based vegan ice cream. To order a vegan shake, ask for the vegan ice cream base on the Classic Shake, and then choose any flavor except for nutella (which has dairy). The vegan flavors are: coffee, vanilla, chocolate, black cherry, strawberry, caramel, peanut butter, and oreo cookies and cream. 

I got a black cherry shake and it was delicious:


So now they have two types of non-dairy whipped creams that it’s important to distinguish between. If you look on the menu, you’ll see a “non-dairy lactose-free” whipped cream, but that one actually still contains milk, just not lactose. The actual vegan whipped cream is the one that comes as part of the Vegan Black ‘N White Cakeshake.

Currently, the vegan whipped cream is available only as part of the Vegan Black ‘N White Cakeshake, and they aren’t able to add it to the top of the classic shakes at the moment.

Another recent addition to the Black Tap menu is the Vegan Nashville Hot Sandwich! It is a breaded portobello, Nashville hot sauce, coleslaw with a vegan dill dressing, pickles, tomato, and lettuce on a vegan potato bun. It requires no modifications:




It comes with fries (in a shared fryer), but if preferred, you can get the house salad as a side instead.

I can tolerate a lot of spice, but this one actually took me close to my limit! My face was pretty much burning off, but in the best way possible!

If you’re not into spicy, I would suggest one of their other excellent vegan options, as outlined below.

The Vegan Burger and Quinoa Bowl requires no modifications:


The Vegan Burger also requires no modifications!



The burger is a housemade black bean and rice patty. I really enjoyed both of these, but I think the Bowl version was the winner between the two. It was a HUGE portion, very filling and nutrient dense!

The fries, sweet potato fries, chips, and Brussels sprouts are fried in a shared fryer. Ask for a substitute side if you’re not comfortable with shared fryers.




The chef told me that the sesame tahini sauce (which comes with the Brussels sprouts appetizer), the salsa verde, and the Texas BBQ sauce are vegan.


  • Ballast Point Brewery (Table Service, Reservations Recommended but often not necessary)

According to a vegan server, all of their beers are vegan, except for the Victory at Sea, which contains lactose.

Here is how to order vegan from the menu:

  1. The Soyrizo and Roasted Cauliflower Tacos are marked fully vegan on the menu.
  2. The Cali Steak burrito can be modified to be vegan. Substitute Impossible meat (or Beyond meat, depending on availability) for the steak, and omit the cheese. The fries inside the burrito and the chips served on the side are prepared in a shared fryer, so if you prefer, you can omit the fries, and get salad instead of chips.
  3. The Impossible Burger is on the menu. Omit the cheese, and ask for a lettuce wrap. They currently don’t have a vegan bun option. Depending on availability, you may find the Beyond Burger on the menu instead of the Impossible.
  4. The Impossible Lettuce Cups are vegan with no modifications.
  5. The Bavarian Pretzel itself is vegan, so if you order it without the cheese dip, it is vegan. The mustard is vegan. You can substitute the chipotle tofu aioli (which normally comes on the tacos) instead of the cheese.
  6. Fries with Garlic oil

Below is the Cali Steak Burrito with Impossible meat. I was really impressed by this one, super delicious:


Pictured below are the Soyrizo and Roasted Cauliflower Tacos (here they are without the aioli because I was told that the aioli isn’t vegan on that day, but it is in fact vegan):


Impossible Lettuce Cups:


Below is the Impossible Burger, no cheese, swap bun for lettuce wrap:


  • Salt and Straw (Counter Service)

Salt and Straw is a Portland based ice cream company with lots of vegan flavors! They are all marked clearly on the menu with a (V).


The three vegan flavors on the permanent menu are:

1. Strawberry & Coconut Water Sherbet
2. Dandelion Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies and Cream
3. Freckled Mint Tcho-colate Chip

Here is a scoop of the Dandelion Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies and Cream, which is our favorite:


Here is a scoop of the Freckled Mint Tcho-colate Chip:


The sugar cones, which are pictured in all of these photos, are vegan. They are also sometimes called kid’s cones. The waffle cones (the larger ones) are not vegan; they contain egg.

You can also get scoops in a cup. The sprinkles and chocolate sauce are vegan (see ingredients lists below):





Here are the lists if the photo is hard to read:

Holy Kakow Chocolate Syrup: organic agave syrup, organic cacao powder, filtered water, organic vanilla extract, organic coconut oil, Himalayan pink salt, organic guar gum.

Fancy Sprinkles Deluxe Rainbow: Powdered sugar, Fractionated Palm Kernel Oil, Corn Starch, Glucose, Soy Lecithin, Carnauba Wax, FD & C Artificial Colors, Gum Arabica.

I’m not sure why the sugar cone isn’t marked in the left column as vegan, but the ingredients list shows that it is: Enriched bleached flour, brown sugar, vegetable oil shortening, oat fiber, salt, caramel color, artificial flavor, soy lecithin.

I love that they use real, metal spoons here for the samples — they’re not throwing away all of those tiny plastic spoons like most ice cream shops do! Their big spoons for takeaway are of course plastic though, so make sure to bring your own spoon or spork to avoid the plastic spoon.


They also have several types of vegan chocolate bars! The Portland Woodblock “Madagascar” has only two ingredients: cacao and sugar, and the “Salt” flavor is just cacao, sugar, and salt.






The Compartes “California Love” bar is listed under the “Vegan Chocolate Bars” section of their website. I haven’t seen this one on the shelf for a little while, but it could show up again. Compartes just seems to have other flavors there at the moment, all of which have milk. Just check the ingredients list for milk on the flavors that are there when you are there.


The ingredients list above says: “dark chocolate (cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, soy lecithin as an emulsifier, vanilla), pretzels (wheat flour, salt, sunflower oil, yeast, vinegar, baking soda).

Watch out for the sitting next to it, the “Salty Malty” in a black and white package, which contains dairy.


For January, they have brought back their Vegandulgence Series, which means that all of the Limited Edition flavors for this month are vegan! Our Anaheim location has received the following three flavors:

  1. Lemon Cheesecake Crumble
  2. Sunflower Butter Cups
  3. Toasted Oat Milk and Cookies


Here are the full menu descriptions from Salt and Straw:

Lemon Cheesecake Crumble: “We blend the loveliest cheeze around with coconut yogurt and lemon zest for a tart cheesecake swirl, then layer it into salted vanilla coconut ice cream. An almond crumble reminiscent of graham cracker crust.”

Sunflower Butter Cups: “When roasted and broken down, sunflower seeds make for an earthy butter that lend depth to coconut cream. We fold in shards of organic chocolate stracciatella and marionberry jam for a deconstructed butter cup.”

Toasted Oat Milk and Cookies: “Slightly nutty, starchy oats continue to delight our kitchen with their creamy, toothsome texture. We dunk gluten-free chocolate chip cookies and ganache into ice cream for the ultimate oat milk & cookies experience.”

Pictured here from left to right are Toasted Oat Milk and Cookies, then Lemon Cheesecake Crumble, then Sunflower Butter Cups:


Our favorite was the Toasted Oat Milk and Cookies! It has so many textures in it — crunchy, chewy, smooth, all in one ice cream. It has a good amount of chocolate in the cookie portion of it. Such a creative, interesting, but also classic tasting flavor.

A close second for me was the Sunflower Butter Cups! It is super rich and velvety.

The Lemon Cheesecake Crumble is also excellent, but not quite as attention-catching as the others in comparison. It is very smooth and rich, with swirls of lemon, and the crumble throughout is like the crust of the cheesecake.

I hope they continue to supply the Anaheim location with vegan Limited Edition flavors! We always have the three Classic (regular) menu flavors, but we went all of November and December without any vegan Limited Edition flavors. I’m going to enjoy January as much as I possibly can and get that Toasted Oat Milk and Cookies again ASAP!!

  • Wetzel’s Pretzels

The original pretzels are vegan as far as the dough goes, but they typically brush them with butter when they come out of the oven. Not to worry though — they make new batches frequently, so all you have to do is request to have one without butter, and they’ve give you one from the next batch if you can wait for a minute or two.


The pretzel bits without the butter are also vegan.

  • Earl of Sandwich (Counter Service)

Two of their sandwiches are easy to veganize:

1. Caprese: Omit the cheese, and add avocado if desired. Say “avocado instead of cheese” and they shouldn’t charge you extra.

2. Veggie sandwich: Omit the cheese and dressing and it’s vegan!

The white (default) bread is vegan, but the wheat bread contains honey.


  • Tortilla Jo’s (Table Service, Reservations recommended but often not necessary)

One thing I can definitely recommend here is the Tableside Guacamole. A server comes to you with a cart loaded with guacamole ingredients, and then you tell them what amounts you would like of each ingredient. It ends up being a very large portion of guacamole, much larger than what you would usually get as a guacamole appetizer.


As for the entrees, the veggie burrito is vegan with no modifications! I double checked with the chef that the quinoa meatballs are vegan, no eggs or dairy. And it doesn’t come with cheese or sour cream, but it doesn’t hurt to say “no cheese or sour cream” when you order, just in case! The burrito has house made quinoa meatballs, black beans, roasted tomatoes, poblano peppers, and red onion, topped with salsa ranchera and served with cilantro rice.


The portobello mushroom fajitas are also vegan! They’re delicious if you’re a mushroom fan. They’re not supposed to come with cheese or sour cream, but again, it doesn’t hurt to say it just in case. They come with the tortillas. fajita veggies, mushrooms, tomatoes with cilantro, guacamole, and black beans and cilantro rice.

20190805_160740 (1).jpg

Just for reference if you want to get any sides or modify any menu items, the server told me that the red rice is made in chicken stock, and the refried beans contain lard. So the vegan alternatives to those are the cilantro lime rice and the black beans.

They also have a weekend brunch menu, which I haven’t had myself yet, but a server told me that the Vegetarian Breakfast Burrito without the egg whites is vegan.


The express side of Tortilla Jo’s, the Taqueria, is counter service where you can get tacos and burritos customized to be vegan. Just choose grilled veggies, black beans, etc.


Some tacos with fajita veggies:


  • Splitsville (Table Service, Reservations recommended but often not necessary)

This is a bowling alley with beautiful mid-century design and some great vegan options. They have several dishes with Impossible meat. There is some controversy around Impossible Foods. If you have not already, please research it and decide whether it’s something you’re comfortable with. I recommend this article.

Here is the menu for your reference, followed by a summary of what is vegan or veganizable here:




Over the previous year with the sporadic shortages of Impossible burgers, Splitsville was serving a house-made vegan black bean burger, but now the shortage appears to be over and they have returned to the regular Impossible burger. As indicated on the menu: “Request no cheese and no special sauce to make it vegan!” The fries are in a shared fryer.


Taco bowl: As indicated on the menu: “Make it vegan by substituting Impossible Taco Meat and omitting cheese and sour cream.” The shell is in a shared fryer.


Spicy Veggie Bowl: Switch the sauce for the regular tataki (the kimchi has fish in it). Add tofu if desired.

Poke Bowl: Choose tofu; omit the mayo and pickled radish (which contains kimchi/fish). The chef gave us the vegan tataki sauce instead of the mayo and it was delish! A really flavorful spicy sauce. Their rice is excellent as well. This might be my new favorite thing at Splitsville:


Power Bowl: As indicated on the menu, specify that you’d like the Power Vegan Bowl and choose tofu instead of chicken. I love that this one is so packed with veggies! I think I might put some sriracha on it next time as well.


Edamame Appetizer: Switch the sauce, since it contains dairy. Ask your server about sauce options. We got it without sauce last time:


Veggie Roll: No modifications necessary. It’s a sushi roll with cucumber, avocado, carrots, asparagus, spring mix, pickled radish, grape tomatoes and yellow peppers rolled in harvest blend rice and drizzled with ponzu sauce and sesame seeds:



You can also modify the Grilled Avocado. Normally this comes with tuna, and you can replace the tuna with either grilled veggies or tofu — I went with tofu! Switch out the kimchee ponzu sauce (contains fish) for regular ponzu sauce, omit the spicy mayo (I added sriracha once it arrived), and switch out the wonton chips (contain egg) for cucumber chips.


They also have a full bar, so they can make you anything you like, and many specialty cocktails. Below is a Cucumber Cooler, which is Tito’s vodka, lime juice, simple syrup, and sliced cucumber:


  • La Brea Bakery (Table Service side and Express side)

At the table service side of the restaurant, they have the Artisan Veggie Burger, which is a house made vegan patty (bean and quinoa based), avocado, arugula, cilantro hummus, fried shallots, and heirloom tomatoes. Omit the basil aioli to make it vegan. The chef told us that the fried shallots, which come in packaging, they aren’t prepared in the restaurant, have on the ingredients list only shallots and palm oil. I opted out of those, so what you see pictured below is the burger with no aioli and no shallots.


The chef told us that the wheat bun, the sourdough, and the French bread are all vegan. Make sure to double check when you order, though, because she said that they sometimes change bread suppliers.

The Hummus Toast Trio from the Appetizers section of the menu is vegan with no modifications! Roasted garlic, sun-dried tomato, and jalapeño cilantro hummuses served on French baguette:


On the breakfast/brunch menu, there is an oatmeal made with almond milk.

At the express side of the restaurant, they make pizzas to order, so you can get a pizza with no cheese, or a veggie sandwich on sourdough or French bread. They have loaves of bread here you can buy, and they are all vegan except for the gluten-free one, which contains eggs. Just make sure to check the ingredients list on the package. They also make coffee drinks (lattes, cappuccinos, etc.) and they have almond milk on hand, so they can use that to make those.

  • Starbucks (two locations)

Here you’ll find all of the vegan options you would normally find at a Starbucks! My favorites are the Soy Vanilla Latte, or the Soy Hot Chocolate around Christmas time. There are too many options to go over here, but they have soy, almond, and coconut milk, and most of the drinks can be veganized with them! Just be careful of some of the syrups, with have dairy in them, for example the pumpkin spice. If you’re unsure, google “ordering vegan at Starbucks” and you’ll find some comprehensive lists.

  • Naples (Table Service, Reservations recommended)

Here is a summary of what can be ordered vegan here:

  1. Veganize the pizza by asking for no cheese, extra sauce, and toppings of your choice. The photo below is a pizza with eggplant, artichokes, black olives, and arugula.
  2. Minestrone soup is vegan as-is
  3. Bruschetta, omit cheese
  4. Della Casa Salad is vegan as-is, and in the photo below it’s with added chickpeas
  5. Panini alla Verdure is vegan as-is — it always comes with no cheese
  6. Spaghetti and marinara sauce, no meatballs
  7. Sides that are vegan as-is: sauteed spinach, rosemary potatoes, and rapini (a type of broccoli)
  8. The chef showed us the ingredients of the ciabatta bread that they bring to the table before you order — it’ just flour, yeast, and salt! They also have a pizza dough bread that they make fresh and brought us out some of that, it was delicious!
  9. Secret menu sorbets — they keep some vegan sorbets in the back! Ask your server for what’s currently available. I’ve tried the pistachio and the lemon flavors, both delicious!

Pizza with no cheese, eggplant, artichokes, olives, arugula:


Della Casa Salad, with added chickpeas:


Ciabatta bread on left, pizza dough bread on right:


Pistachio sorbet and lemon sorbet:


Here is another build-your-own that we did with pineapple, red peppers, and onions:



The minestrone soup. Not a great photo because of the blue umbrellas that throw off the color, but it was a decent soup!


Napolini is the quick service side of this restaurant, and here they can make you a pizza with no cheese and your choice of toppings.

  • Sprinkles Cupcakes (Counter Service)

There is one vegan flavor here, red velvet. It’s not always the the display case, but just ask for the vegan red velvet and they will bring you one from the back. The cake is so moist and the frosting is amazing! I think it’s a coconut milk based frosting, it does have a bit of a coconut flavor to it. Super tasty!



  • Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen (Table Service, Reservations recommended but often not necessary)

They recently added a vegan option to the regular menu (they only had options on the secret menu previously, and those still exist and are described below). They added the So-Cal Impossible Burger, which comes with avocado, pickled onions, tomato, and arugula. Omit the sriracha mayo, and switch out the bun. The normal bun contains honey, but the kid’s sesame bun (pictured below), the focaccia, and the ciabatta bread are vegan. The bread suppliers change sometimes though, so make sure to double check with your server.


The cajun fries are in a shared fryer. If preferred, they also have a side salad, corn on the cob (without butter), or veggies (peas and carrots) as possible sides.

This burger is only on the lunch menu, but depending on availability, they might be able to make it during dinner hours as well.



In the fine print of the regular menu, it says “special dietary menu available on request.” This menu lists a “vegan plate” and a “vegan pasta.” This is the lunch menu pictured below, but the vegan options are the same on the dinner menu as well.


Below is the vegan plate. The vegetables vary seasonally, but this day it was asparagus, zucchini, potatoes, artichokes, bell peppers, onions, and broccolini:


Below is the vegan pasta. Penne pasta, tomato basil sauce, zucchini, artichoke hearts, garlic, spinach, onions, and bell pepper:


  • Uva Bar and Café (Table Service)

Uva bar is the smaller and more casual part these two connected restaurants, Uva + Catal. At the Uva bar, there are a couple of options.

This menu seems to change often. A few months ago, they had an item called the “Vegan Burger,” which is what you see pictured below. It had been a vegetarian patty with egg before that, so it was great that they changed it to be vegan, but now it appears that they have changed it again and it’s no longer reliably vegan. Now the menu board reads “Veggie Burger” again:



Pictured below is the old version of the Vegan Burger. It was a housemade quinoa patty, tomato, BBQ sauce, little gem lettuce, and housemade pickles, served with garlic herb fries:


I asked during this previous week, and I was told that they don’t have vegan buns anymore, so it would be a lettuce wrap. Also, the sauces have changed, so there is a lot going on, and I was a bit skeptical of the way they described the whole thing, so please verify about eggs/dairy/honey with your server and the chef, because this menu seems to change frequently.

Here are some other options on the menu that have not changed in the past couple of years and seem to be more reliable. But again, please double check:

  1. Guacamole: ask for no cheese.
  2. Trio of Mediterranean Dips (Hummus, Baba Ghanoush, Mouhammara): The pita bread that it normally comes with contains dairy, so ask for extra veggies for dipping instead. The candied walnuts do not have dairy or honey, but they are made in a shared fryer.
  3. Watermelon Salad: Omit feta cheese.
  4. Manchego Salad: Omit manchego cheese.
  5. Sweet potato fries with ketchup: these are vegan, just note that they are made in a shared fryer.

Below is the Trio of Mediterranean Dips, with extra veggies for dipping instead of the pita bread:


Watermelon Salad, omit the feta cheese:


Sweet potato fries with ketchup:



  • Catal Restaurant (Table Service, Reservations Recommended)

Catal is the upstairs portion of Uva, and it’s a lot fancier. The menu doesn’t have anything remotely modifiable, so they have a secret vegan menu item that they will tell you about if you ask about vegan options: the vegan paella. It was very tasty, I would definitely get it again.



  • LA Ice / Italian Ice

I walked by this cart on the first day they were there and they were super nice and helpful in answering all my questions about the ingredients. It is located sort of near the middle of Downtown Disney, between Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen and the Lego Store.


They have fruit sorbets (mango, strawberry, lemon, pineapple, and blue raspberry) and cashew-based ice cream (chocolate).

All of the flavors are vegan except for the vanilla. When they first opened, the vanilla was also a cashew-based vegan ice cream, but they changed the supplier or recipe, and now the vanilla is not vegan:


The cones are still vegan; they haven’t changed since when this cart first opened. They showed me the ingredient lists for the cones themselves, and the sugar glaze that some of them are dipped in, and they all checked out as vegan.


As far as the toppings, they are all vegan except for the M&M’s. They showed me the ingredients list for the sprinkles, and they checked out as vegan — no beeswax, confectioner’s glaze, etc. They also have Oreos, Fruity Pepples, Chamoy + Tajin, mangoes, and strawberries as toppings.⁣ I forgot to ask about the sauces, I will ask about those next time.



I only have a photo of a cone with the vanilla from when the it was vegan, so I don’t have a whole put-together cone to show you — will get one soon! But for now, here are the tubs:


They also sell fresh fruit, lemonades, and aguas frescas, which are all vegan:




For a limited time, they’re also making a mangonada with the mango sorbet, and this one is vegan as well:



  • Jamba Juice (Counter Service)

Jamba Juice is currently closed because it is being remodeled, and we will see if the menu changes when it reopens. I am including the information below about the menu for your reference, but just note that it is currently closed and that the menu might be different when it reopens. I’ll make sure to update as soon as they reopen!

Many of their smoothies are already vegan or can be made vegan by omitting the yogurt. They have a part of the menu board dedicated to plant-based options as well:


  • Marceline’s Confectionary (Candy Shop)

There are quite a few vegan candies in packaging here, though none of the candies in the display case are vegan to my knowledge — we have to keep writing them emails to change that! Here are some photos of the vegan ones I could find. Quite a few of the candies here have confectioner’s glaze (shellac, from beetles), or beeswax, so I didn’t take photos of those. Please note that some of these have palm oil as well.

























Of the bagged chocolates, the Dark Chocolate Non-Pareils and the Cocoa Dusted Dark Chocolate Almonds are the vegan varieties. The Non-Pareils have been missing for a while, though. I haven’t seen them in a few months. Hopefully they’ll come back at some point.





At these locations with the chocolates, you can find various “Snacks with Character,” which I think are mostly repackaged Enjoy Life products that are made for people with allergies. Here is what is currently available from Enjoy Life, pictured below:

  • Chocolate Protein Bites
  • Chocolate Marshmallow Grain & Seed Bar
  • Banana Caramel Grain & Seed Bar
  • Dark Chocolate Bar
  • Ricemilk Choco Bar
  • Chocolate Chip Mini Cookies


  • Rinse Soap

You may recognize Rinse Soap from their carts at previous Food and Wine Festivals and the Festival of Holidays, and now they have a permanent location in Downtown Disney! It is a bit hard to find, it is actually around the corner from Earl of Sandwich. So you’ll need to exit Downtown Disney as if you were going to the Disneyland Hotel, but then turn left right after security, and you’ll see it around the corner on your left.

Most of their products are vegan — notable exceptions are the sunscreen, chapstick, and skin sticks, which contain beeswax, and a couple of soaps that have honey.

The soaps all say “vegan friendly” on the label, except for the ones that mention honey:



They have so many great smelling essential oils!


Hand sanitizers with essential oils:


Shower Bombs: I use these all the time, for when I don’t have time to take a bath, but still want a nicely scented experience:


These little bags and pumice stones are great too. On the top there you’ll see the soap tapas, which is like a sampler set / grab bag of soaps. I would avoid them though, since there’s some likelihood that one of them will have honey.


Bath Bombs: All of these are vegan except for the one that mentions honey in the name:


More essential oils:


Tub Truffles: Kind of like the bath bombs, but with a lot of cocoa butter, so they melt slowly instead of fizzing, and have more of a moisturizing effect:


Beard products:


Products for dogs — a shampoo/wash and a spray:


Facial masks: Some of these have yogurt, just read the labels for each one. The Dead Sea one is vegan, it’s just the mud:


Body Bliss Oils: I’m currently using a Gardenia scented one of these, I’m in love with it. It’s similar to a regular essential oil, but a little bit more diluted, so you can rub it on larger areas of your skin, for example after a shower.


Body Spreads: These are all vegan. They’re a bit thicker than a standard lotion. I’m currently working through a Ginger and Lemongrass one, I love them, especially for my hands.



Refreshing sprays:


Essential Oil Diffusers:



  • Sephora

There is quite a bit of vegan and cruelty-free makeup and skincare here. More and more, brands are going cruelty-free, as well as labelling their vegan products clearly, so the guesswork is really quite minimal nowadays. There are so many vegan products here, so I can’t go over every single one, but here is a sampling of them to give you an idea. If you’re interested in a certain product, you can of course go on Sephora’s website (they label each product on there as vegan if it is vegan), or ask one of the employees there to verify for you.

Kat von D, or as I think it’s called now, KvD Vegan Beauty, is obviously an all-vegan brand:





Hourglass is a cruelty-free brand with some products that contained animal ingredients, but they’ve pledged to be all vegan by 2020, so by the time you’re reading this, it’s possible that they’re all vegan. This list from the Ethical Elephant lists all of their products that were vegan in 2019.


Tarte is all cruelty-free with many vegan items. They label next to each product which ones are vegan.






Too Faced is also cruelty-free and many of their products are vegan.

Urban Decay is cruelty-free and many of their products are vegan. The vegan products are clearly marked.

Drunk Elephant is cruelty-free, with some vegan products as well. The vegan products are marked as such on their website, as well as here on the Ethical Elephant’s list.


This is by no means an exhaustive list of every vegan product in Sephora, but hopefully it gives you an idea of what they offer! Sephora’s website will tell you whether any given product is vegan.

  • Curl Surf

Here you can get some vegan and cruelty-free sunscreen by Sun Bum! This is from the FAQ on their website:

“Most of our products are Vegan including our Original Sunscreen Lotions (SPF 15-50), Original Sunscreen Sprays, Mineral Sunscreen Collection, SPF Lip Balms, Cool Down lotions and sprays along with our extensive line of Baby Bum and Hair Care products.

Cocobalms, Tinted Lip Balms, Signature Lip Balm, Mineral Lip Balm and Baby Bum Diaper Rash Cream contain beeswax. We are currently working on a solution using synthetic beeswax. Our Blonde range of hair products uses natural Lehua Honey.”


Those are all of the Downtown Disney options that I know about at the moment! Please also check out my other most recently updated comprehensive guides:

Complete Guide to Vegan Options at Disneyland! (January 2020 Update)

Complete Guide to Vegan Options in California Adventure! (January 2020 Update)

Complete Guide to Vegan Options at the Disneyland Resort Hotels! (January 2020 Update)

Find me on Instagram for daily updates, and on Youtube for video versions of these guides:



Also, tag me on Instagram in your vegan food photos! I love to see all the deliciousness that people find in the parks!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s