Your Guide to Vegan Options at Disneyland – October 2018 Update

Welcome to Disneyland! Let’s eat some vegan food!

These are the options to the best of my knowledge as of October 2018. Please be aware that I try to update as thoroughly as I can, but the food options change regularly at Disneyland, so the information becomes out of date at some point. Please contact me if you find that something has changed and that a previously vegan item is no longer vegan so that I can update the post! 🙂 Messaging me on Instagram (@happiestveganonearth) is the quickest way to contact me.

Table of Contents (Jump to a section!)

Royal Street Veranda
River Belle Terrace
Rancho del Zocalo
Red Rose Taverne
Tropical Hideaway
Tiki Juice Bar
Trader Sam’s
Dark Chocolates and “Snacks with Character” throughout the parks
Starbucks/Market House
Mickey Pretzels, Popcorn, Pickles, Fruit (Snack carts throughout the parks)
Overnight Oats (Tropical Imports, Adventureland)
Maurice’s Treats
Olaf’s Strawberry Lemonade Bar (Ice cream carts throughout the parks)
Redd Rockett’s Pizza Port / Alien Pizza Planet
Galactic Grill
French Market
Mint Julep Bar
Carnation Café
Plaza Inn
Jolly Holiday
Café Orleans
Blue Bayou
Hungry Bear
Goofy’s Kitchen
Bengal Barbecue

  • Royal Street Veranda (New Orleans Square)

The vegan gumbo is first on the list because it’s so iconic! It says “vegetarian gumbo” on the menu board, but it’s actually vegan. It’s served in a vegan sourdough bread bowl, but there have been times when they ran out and gave it to me in a french bread bowl, and that is also vegan. I have heard that sometimes they brush the bread with butter — this is rare, but ask to double check in case they are doing that on the day you are there.


I highly recommend the mint juleps as well! I asked whether there was honey or any other sneaky animal products in it, and they showed me the ingredients list — it’s vegan 🙂

This photo is from when I was still using plastic cutlery at Disneyland, but now I have my own stainless steel straw, spork, and cloth napkin that I bring with me. Disneyland isn’t the most eco-friendly place, but we can make small changes to improve it!

  • River Belle Terrace (New Orleans Square)

This is a table service restaurant and reservations are recommended during peak times, like weekends, summers, and holidays. You might get a table as a walk in, but if you’re certain you want to eat here, make a reservation!

For breakfast, there isn’t anything vegan on the regular menu, but on the secret menu they have vegan pancake batter:


Your best bet here for lunch and dinner is the BBQ Tofu! You can either get it as part of the River Belle’s Chopped Salad, or as an entree with 2 sides. The tofu is normally cooked in a shared fryer, but they are happy to bake it separately for you if you ask.

The sides are steamed veggies or tater tots (in shared fryer). There used to be a vegan cole slaw with a vinegar based sauce, but now it’s with mayo, so no longer vegan.

Displaying 20170103_125529.jpg

Displaying 20170103_123144.jpg

I think I prefer the salad version now — ask for the Chopped Salad with tofu, and then switch the ranch dressing for the apple vinaigrette instead. It normally comes with fried onions, and they’re in the shared fryer as well, but there is no egg batter or anything like that, so that’s just a matter of how you feel about shared fryers.



  • Rancho del Zocalo (Frontierland)

This is probably the most vegan-friendly restaurant in Disneyland! The tacos, burritos, and tostada salad can be modified to be vegan. They recently added these cauliflower tacos with avocado pasilla crema and I enjoyed them very much! The chef showed me the ingredients for the marinade they use for the cauliflower. He also said that he knew the recipe for the avocado pasilla crema by heart: it’s just avocados, pasilla peppers, and tofu (!) — and he assured me that there were no dairy or eggs in it. Lately the chefs have been saying conflicting things about this, though, so please double check about the avocado sauce when you order. I’ll be checking again ASAP.


The marinade:


My favorite on the menu is the tostada salad! It doesn’t look like much, but on the bottom there is a huge layer of refried beans, so it’s very filling. I usually can’t finish it all! The crunchy shell is heavenly. Ask for extra guacamole and grilled veggies — they’ve always been happy to do that for me since I said no cheese/no meat.

The crispy chips in bags are all vegan as well — the cinnamon and limón ones.


They also have these fruit cups, very refreshing!



They recently added a blended horchata to the menu, and I asked if it had dairy — it does have cow’s milk 😦 But I figured I’d tell you that here to save you the trouble of standing in line to ask.

  • Red Rose Taverne (Fantasyland)

They recently changed the veggie sandwich here, and I like the new version much better! It used to be a plain cauliflower steak (Enchanted Cauliflower Sandwich), but now it’s the Enchanted Crispy Samosa Sandwich, which is a handmade patty of roasted cauliflower, potatoes, and peas, and lettuce, tomato compote, and a vegan curry mayo. I had the chef double check on the onion roll bread that it comes on, and she said that it is free of dairy, egg, and honey. These modifications are needed:

  • Omit fried green beans (they are in an egg batter, same as the earlier version of this sandwich)
  • Replace the Pommes Frites (they have cheese) for regular fries



They also have breakfast here, and there is one dish that can be veganized — the Garden Vegetable Hash, which is described on the menu as “Mushrooms, Sun-dried Tomatoes, Kale, Taverne Potatoes, Lemon Béchamel Sauce and a Baked Egg served with a Petit Croissant.” So you have to remove the sauce, egg, and croissant. The potatoes and veggies are sauteed in oil. It’s alright, but kind of pricy for what you’re getting after the modifications. They need to add some tofu in there!


  • Tropical Hideaway (Adventureland)

This place just opened in December 2018 and it is beautiful! Here is a summary of the vegan options:

– Dole whips in three flavors: pineapple, orange, and raspberry
– Dole whip float: Pineapple juice with any flavor dole whip
– Dole whip ambush: Any flavor dole whip topped with toasted coconut, crystallized hibiscus, pineapple pieces, tangerines, and jackfruit. Omit the pocky cookie sticks to make it vegan.
– Ramen noodle salad: Vegan as-is, as long as they’re not using egg noodles — it has switched back and forth within the first few days of opening.
– Hippeas in two flavors: vegan white cheddar and sriracha sunshine
– Plantain chips
– Trail mix by Truly Good Foods
– Salt and Vinegar Lays
– Whole fruit: apples, bananas, oranges, pineapple spears, etc.
– Blue Sky sodas, Zico coconut water, orange juice, etc.

The chefs showed me the binder with the ingredients lists of the bao buns — the dough contains milk unfortunately 😦

This is the Ambush with pineapple/raspberry! You can choose any flavor of dole whip for your ambush, and then just say “no pocky sticks.”




Ramen Shaker Salad (yes, I brought my own bowl because I wanted to be fancy!):


Here is the ingredients list as of December 20, 2018. Please read it thoroughly before buying, since there has also been a version of it with egg in it!




Each part of the plastic cup has the recycling symbol, so please put it in the mixed recycling bins throughout the park when you’re done 🙂 They also sell reusable plastic sporks in the Tropical Hideaway. I always bring my steel spork or a spoon from home with me whenever I’m at the park, because I almost always have a dole whip and and I like to avoid the plastic utensils, especially since they’re not recyclable.

Orange + pineapple swirl — the colors aren’t that different, but hopefully you can distinguish them!



The Hippeas and Lays in the photo above are vegan. Watch out  for the Maui style chips though, they contain milk!


Sriracha Sunshine Hippeas ingredients:








  • Tiki Juice Bar (Adventureland)

Yes, dole whips are vegan! You can see the ingredients lists for all of their flavors on their website ( The orange dole whip in Florida and the lemon dole whip in California Adventure — all vegan!

Here in Adventureland, you can get a Dole Whip (just the soft serve), a Dole Float (with pineapple juice), or a pineapple spear. If you’re into spicy, ask for a packet of tajín and the cast member will be happy to give you one!



Here is the ingredients list on the cherries that they use:


You can also get the version with rum at the Disneyland Hotel — in the coffee shop near the pool. Get this early, as they close at 4pm last I checked! You have no choice but to get your day drinking on with this one 😉


  • Trader Sam’s (Disneyland Hotel)

This one is actually in the hotel, not in Disneyland itself, but since we made it over to the hotel with that Rum Dole Whip, I figured I would add it here. They recently changed the menu and the vegan options are much better now! You can get this poke bowl with marinated tofu — ask for no aioli and no wonton chips (they contain egg). The fried spring rolls are vegan, but the sauces that they come with aren’t, so ask to substitute teriyaki sauce, which is vegan!



There are also two salads here. The Rongo salad is vegan with no modifications:


The Tangaroa salad is vegan if you say no meat, and substitute for the dressing that it comes with, which has a binding agent that isn’t vegan, according to our very knowledgeable vegan server! All of the cocktails are vegan! Our server double checked on the creme de cacao and the coconut cream which are in some of the cocktails.

  • Dark Chocolates and “Snacks with Character” throughout the parks

You can find these bagged dark chocolates at the candy shop on Main Street and Pooh’s Corner, as well as the candy shop on Buena Vista Street in California Adventure, and World of Disney in Downtown Disney. The two vegan options are the non-pareils and the cocoa dusted almonds. Wouldn’t it be great if Disneyland could commit to using only fair-trade chocolate? I wrote them an email to encourage them to do that. If you have a moment, please write an email to them here to let them know that you’d love the chocolate to be fair-trade!





You can also find these rice milk chocolate bars, which are surprisingly good! If you are tired of dark chocolate, these mimic the traditional milk chocolate really well!


At these locations with the chocolates, you can find various “Snacks with Character,” which I think are mostly repackaged Enjoy Life products that are made for people with allergies. You can see on those rice milk bars that they are clearly labelled “vegan.” There are also a few cookies, chips, trail mixes, and other snacks that are vegan! I don’t have photos of all of them, but look for the “Snacks with Character” and you’ll be able to see which ones are labelled “vegan,” like these chips:


You can also find these candy apples at the various candy shops sometimes. I haven’t gotten one before so I can’t say if they’re good — let me know if you get one!



If you’re at the candy shop on Main Street around Christmas time, you might like to get a handmade candy cane! These are very popular and people line up to get them. They are only made on a select few days each year. But they are vegan, so you can stand in line knowing that you’ll be able to buy one if you choose to stand in line!


  • Starbucks (Market House, Main Street, USA)

Halfway down Main Street is a Starbucks that has all of the vegan options you would normally find at a Starbucks! My favorite is a Soy Vanilla Latte, or a Soy Hot Chocolate around Christmas time! I can’t go over all of the options here, but they have soy, almond, and coconut milk, and most of the drinks can be veganized with them! Just be careful of some of the syrups, with have dairy in them, for example the pumpkin spice. If you’re unsure, google “ordering vegan at Starbucks” and you’ll find some comprehensive lists. Luckily the hot chocolate doesn’t have dairy in the syrup/powder, so you can get this beauty to sip on while watching the fireworks!


  • Mickey Pretzels, Popcorn, Pickles, Fruit (Snack carts throughout the parks)


The Mickey Pretzels are vegan! Just make sure to get the version without the cheese sauce. Get some mustard packets instead!

Recently I was able to get my hands on the ingredients list for the pretzels, please note that they do have palm oil, if that’s something you avoid.


The popcorn is vegan too! It’s with oil instead of butter. I like to bring a little tupperware of nutritional yeast and sprinkle it on top of my popcorn! I leave a trail of yellow pixie dust behind me 😉




And of course the pickles you’ll find at the fruit stands! Another perfect opportunity to sprinkle some tajín on there!


  • Overnight Oats (Tropical Imports, Adventureland)

Recently I spotted these overnight oats in Adventureland! At the snack stand across from the Jungle Cruise. They put them out in the morning and they usually sell out in the early afternoon.



  • Maurice’s Treats (Fantasy Faire, near the castle)

There are some frozen lemonade drinks here that are vegan! My favorite is the Rose lemonade!


  • Olaf’s Strawberry Lemonade Bar (Ice cream carts throughout the parks)




  • Redd Rockett’s Pizza Port / Alien Pizza Planet (Tomorrowland)

This is very similar to Boardwalk Pizza and Pasta in California Adventure. You can ask them to make you a personal pizza with vegan cheese (Daiya), or to put vegan cheese on top of your pasta. It’s not on the menu, it’s a secret, so you have to ask for it.


Terra Nova Vegetable Pasta — ask for no parmesan, and replace with daiya mozzarella.


This photo is from DCA, but it’s the same pizza in Tomorrowland. They make this to order, so it will take an extra 10 minutes or so, but it’s worth it!

In case you are wondering about the Halloween Time seasonal pasta here, the “Cosmic Chili Pasta,” it certainly had potential to be veganizable, but it is not. They only have meat chili, and the pasta is prepared in advance with cheese in it.

  • Galactic Grill (Tomorrowland)

They have a veggie wrap on the menu here that always seemed promising, but the problem is that they are made off-site and the cheese is already in them, so they can’t make them without the cheese. They do have veggie burgers on the secret menu though. It’s a vegan Gardenburger patty and the regular vegan buns they use throughout the park. The fries are in a dedicated (non-shared) fryer!


  • French Market (New Orleans Square)

Here you can get the veggie jambalaya, which is off-menu, but if you ask, they will bring you some! It’s pretty good, but for me, I’d rather have the gumbo, so I don’t get this very often.


  • Mint Julep Bar (New Orleans Square)

This place only serves Mint Juleps (virgin), beignets, and sometimes some seasonal desserts. Unfortunately they don’t have vegan beignets here like they do at Walt Disney World. I keep asking, but as of October 2018, there are no alternative beignets for allergies or anything, just the one type. The mint juleps are of course vegan though 🙂


  • Carnation Café (Main Street, U.S.A.)

This place is great for breakfast, lunch, and dinner!

Ask your server for the vegan Mickey waffles and vegan pancakes! It is the “allergy” version, so they are also gluten free. They can also make you roast potatoes and soy lattes, or bring you soy milk to go with your coffee 🙂




For lunch and dinner, they have the Chef’s Vegan Burger (yes, it says the V word on the menu!!) — which is really tasty!20180803_220856.jpg The fries are in a shared fryer, so ask for fruit as a substitute if you’re not down with that!

  • Plaza Inn (Main Street, U.S.A.)

This has the same vegan options for breakfast as the Carnation Cafe, but it’s quite different because it’s a character dining buffet, so the characters wander around while you eat and you can take photos with them. Minnie is always there, and then an assortment of other characters — I have seen Captain Hook, Winnie the Pooh, Tigger, Eeyore, Max Goof, Rafiki, and Fairy Godmother recently.

The vegan waffles aren’t on the buffet, so you just ask your server and they will have the chef make you a batch of them. It’s a buffet, so don’t be shy about flagging them down and asking for more!


There are some fruit toppings at the buffet, like this strawberry topping:


And most importantly, coffee and potatoes!


For lunch/dinner, there is pasta with marinara sauce — omit the cheese. The cast members were unsure about the breadstick ingredients, so they offered me applesauce or carrots instead. It’s not very impressive, but if the rest of your party really wants to eat there, you can certainly get a full belly here!


  • Jolly Holiday (Main Street, U.S.A.)

Here you can get the Grilled Veggie and Whole Grain Salad, described on the menu: “Seasonal Vegetables, Mixed Greens, Barley, Spelt, with Basil Vinaigrette served with a fresh Breadstick.”

Make sure to ask for no breadstick, as it has cheese baked onto it. They can substitute their house-made chips. The chef told me that the veggies are cooked in oil, but they can’t guarantee 100% that there isn’t cross-contamination within the kitchen.

The dressing is vegan, no need to substitute!


They also have soy/almond milk to make lattes with!


  • Café Orleans (New Orleans Square)

This is a table service restaurant, so reservations are a good idea during peak times.

You can get the house salad with no cheese and no candied pecans (dairy), the pommes frites with no cheese and switch the sauce for ketchup.

The regular menu doesn’t have anything veganizable, but they always seem to have something on the seasonal menu that is vegetarian and/or able to be veganized. I haven’t had time to actually dine her since the menu changed, I talked to a cast member there are she showed me this new version of the specials, and said that the Vegetable Bolognese is vegan without the cheese. Please verify with a chef if you get this that there are no other animal products involved though. If you get it, please tag me on Instagram (@happiestveganonearth), I would love to see what it looks like!


Here is a photo of the Ratatouille from the old Pixar Fest prix fixe menu as a reference for the kind of food they make here:


These are the Pommes Frites (omit the parmesan, and switch the mayo-based remoulade sauce for ketchup), or the Salade de Maison — ask for the allergy version of this salad on the special Allergy Menu.



  • Blue Bayou (New Orleans Square)

The menu here as recently changed — there used to be a vegan menu item with portobello mushrooms and rice. Now there is nothing vegan on the menu, but the chef will make you a pasta dish if you ask. There is a vegetarian pasta dish with egg noodles and cheese on the menu, so this is with different noodles and some added veggies. It tastes great, but it’s $30 and doesn’t really seem to match that price point. That is the case with everything on the menu, though — even meat-eaters say that this restaurant isn’t the best — you’re the for the ambiance, not for the food. If you do want to eat here, a reservation is a must, as it’s always booked.


They do have vegan dessert options, which is quite nice! They have several sorbet flavors and it depends which day you’re there — when I went, they had mango, kiwi, and pear, so I went with the pear:


  • Hungry Bear (Critter Country)

They recently added the Beyond Burger to the menu here! Very exciting! It’s sloppy-joe style with stewed vegetables on top. The chef verified with me that the bread is free of dairy, honey, and eggs.



They also have this Watermelon slushie, which I very much enjoyed! Just say “no whip cream” to make it vegan:


  • Goofy’s Kitchen (Disneyland Hotel)

This is a character dining buffet with lots of vegan options! Tell them that you’re vegan when you arrive, and the chef will come out to talk to you. They can make you vegan Mickey waffles and pancakes:


And can bring you out vegan sorbet for dessert on request as well — I got a peach one, it was delicious!


They can also bring you some almond milk to put in your coffee:


There are quite a few vegan options on the buffet! Lots of fruit:


Roasted potatoes:


Roast cauliflower salad:


Thai Mango salad:


Watermelon kale salad:


Rice Pilaf:


Seasonal vegetables:


Veggie soup:


Oatmeal made with water:


I’m sure these could change from day to day, so make sure to have the chef walk you around the buffet to let you know what’s vegan!

  • Bengal Barbecue (Adventureland)

They do veggie skewers here, but they are on a shared grill. Normally I’m not too concerned about shared kitchens, but in this case, it’s all in the open and I can actually see it happening, and that makes me lose my appetite. By all means get them if it doesn’t bother you to see it! I do like to get this Jungle Julep, though! It’s a slush of grape, orange, lemon, and pineapple juice, with grenadine. Super refreshing!


Bengal Barbecue also does a hummus plate, but it’s pre-made and one of them has cheese in it.

Those are all of the Disneyland options that I know about at the moment! Please also check out my guides to vegan options at California Adventure and Downtown Disney!

Please let me know if this has been helpful and feel free to message me on Instagram (@happiestveganonearth) if you have any questions or would like advice planning your trip 🙂

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s