Complete Guide to Reopened Downtown Disney Vegan Options! (Aug/Sep 2020)

Welcome to the reopened Downtown Disney! Let’s eat some vegan food!

I’ve been back to Downtown Disney a handful of times now and I’ve been to almost every restaurant again. Now that I’ve collected the info, I’m redoing the Complete Guide to Vegan Options in Downtown Disney with the current info as of late August/early September 2020.

Note that menus and offerings at Downtown Disney have been changing rapidly, so this information will go out of date at some point! But whenever I get new info, I’ll update this post, and make a new post when we’re at a more stable point. Please check the main page of this blog (https://happiestveganonearth.com/) if you are reading this more than a couple of months in the future, and use the most current version of the blog post so that you have the most accurate info for your visit to the park 🙂

Please tag me on Instagram whenever you have photos of vegan food in Downtown Disney or notice anything new/different that I can update! 🙂

Table of Contents (Jump to a section!)

Asian Street Eats
Black Tap Burgers and Shakes
Ballast Point
Salt and Straw
Wetzel’s Pretzels
Earl of Sandwich
Tortilla Jo’s
Splitsville (still closed)
La Brea Bakery
Starbucks
Naples / Napolini
Sprinkles Cupcakes (Still closed)
Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen
Uva Bar and Café
Catal Restaurant (Still closed)
Jamba Juice
Marceline’s Confectionary
Rinse Soap
Sephora
Curl Surf

  • Asian Street Eats by Chef Hung Huynh

Asian Street Eats still has its normal, full menu from before the closure. This Scallion Pancake Wrap with tofu was the last thing I ate before Disneyland closed, and it was the first thing I ate on reopening day of Downtown Disney, so you can probably tell that I’m a big fan of it!

Note that is made on a shared grill, though they clean it frequently. The chef assured me that the pancake wrap’s ingredients do not contain any dairy, eggs, meat, or honey. Just make sure to order it with tofu and omit the sriracha aioli (contains egg).

20200709_171626.jpg

20200113_151829.jpg

Then we have the Mixed Bowl with tofu:

20200113_151957.jpg

The bowl comes with purple rice or mixed greens, a bunch of veggies, tofu, and a side of sauce. Here is a rundown of the sauce ingredients:

  • Teriyaki: vegan
  • Spicy teriyaki: vegan
  • Sesame Citrus Soy: vegan
  • Spicy Avocado: contains honey
  • Miso honey: contains honey
  • Sriracha aioli: contains egg

Then we have the vegetable potstickers. They are mostly mushrooms! The dough and everything else about them is vegan, as well was the ginger soy sauce they come with, so there are no modifications necessary:

20200113_152058.jpg

Here is the menu board for your reference:

20200113_140702.jpg

 

  • Black Tap Craft Burgers and Shakes

They currently have a limited version of the menu. Note that they don’t currently offer the Vegan Black ‘N White Cakeshake, the Vegan Burger, or the Vegan Burger and Quinoa Bowl.

The vegan entree that they do have currently is the Vegan Nashville Hot Sandwich. It is a breaded portobello, Nashville hot sauce, coleslaw with a vegan dill dressing, pickles, tomato, and lettuce on a vegan potato bun. It requires no modifications:

20200729_193527.jpg

It comes with fries (in a shared fryer), but if preferred, you can get the house salad as a side instead.

I can tolerate a lot of spice, but this one actually took me close to my limit! My face was pretty much burning off, but in the best way possible.

While they can’t make the Vegan Black ‘N White Cakeshake, they still have the vegan version of their Classic Shakes on the menu. You can order a shake from inside the restaurant as usual, or you can actually go up to their walk-up shake window outside the restaurant for a quick shake to take with you.

The vegan version of the shake is a soymilk based vegan ice cream. To order a vegan shake, ask for the vegan ice cream base on the Classic Shake, and then choose any flavor except for nutella (which has dairy). The vegan flavors are: coffee, vanilla, chocolate, black cherry, strawberry, caramel, peanut butter, and oreo cookies and cream. 

Here is the Black Cherry flavor:

20190507_195406.jpg

 

  • Ballast Point Brewery

They currently have a limited version of their menu. Below is what is currently available.

Soyrizo and Roasted Cauliflower Tacos, which are vegan with no modifications:

20200826_124955

The Impossible Lettuce Cups appetizer is vegan with no modifications:

20190314_161141.jpg

I asked again about their Impossible Burger, and they still don’t have a vegan bun, so it has to be a lettuce wrap, and omit the sauce/cheese. I ordered it once just to see how it is, and it’s alright, but I’m not really into lettuce wraps, so I would recommend the tacos over this until they get a vegan bun:

20190113_173634.jpg

The Bavarian Pretzel itself is vegan, so if you order it without the cheese dip, it is vegan. The mustard is vegan. You can substitute the chipotle tofu aioli (which normally comes on the tacos) instead of the cheese.

There used to be a burrito that could be modified (Cali Steak Burrito) by substituting Impossible meat for the carne asada, but that burrito didn’t make it onto the limited menu, so that substitution can’t happen right now unfortunately.

 

  • Salt and Straw

Salt and Straw is a Portland based ice cream company with lots of vegan flavors! They are all marked clearly on the menu with a (V).

The three vegan flavors on the permanent menu are:

1. Strawberry & Coconut Water Sherbet
2. Dandelion Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies and Cream (currently unavailable)
3. Freckled Mint Tcho-colate Chip (new name: Mint Chip with Theo Chocolate)

The current Limited Edition series has the Huckleberry Cast Iron Cornbread vegan flavor:

20200815_214006.jpg

Below is a scoop of the Freckled Mint Tcho-colate Chip, which has a new name: Mint Chip with Theo Chocolate. I haven’t tried it since they changed it slightly. It seems like they just changed the brand of chocolate they used, so it might be pretty much indistinguishable from the old version, but I’ll let you know when I try it again!

20190801_155842.jpg

Below is the Strawberry & Coconut Water Sherbet:

20200709_171331

Below is a scoop of the Dandelion Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies and Cream, which is our favorite, but not on the menu currently. Every day, I check to see if it has reappeared! Hopefully soon!

20190307_135755.jpg

The sugar cones, which are pictured in all of these photos, are vegan. They are also sometimes called kid’s cones. The waffle cones (the larger ones) are not vegan; they contain egg.

You can also get scoops in a cup, as seen above.

 

  • Wetzel’s Pretzels

Wetzel’s menu appears to be the same from before the closure.

The original pretzels are vegan as far as the dough goes, but they typically brush them with butter when they come out of the oven. Not to worry though — they make new batches frequently, so all you have to do is request to have one without butter, and they’ve give you one from the next batch if you can wait for a minute or two.

IMG_20181214_143528_636.jpg

The Pretzel Bitz without the butter are also vegan:

20200829_183940.jpg

 

  • Earl of Sandwich

Earl of Sandwich’s menu appears to be the same as before the closure.

Two of their sandwiches are easy to veganize:

1. Caprese: Omit the cheese, and add avocado if desired. Say “avocado instead of cheese” and they shouldn’t charge you extra.

2. Veggie sandwich: Omit the cheese and dressing and it’s vegan!

The white (default) bread is vegan, but the wheat bread contains honey.

20181003_175250-01.jpeg

 

  • Tortilla Jo’s

Tortilla Jo’s has a limited version of their menu currently.

Note that the Tableside Guacamole is not currently available.

They still have the Vegetarian Burrito on the menu, which is still vegan by default. It has house made quinoa meatballs, black beans, roasted tomatoes, poblano peppers, and red onion, topped with salsa ranchera and served with cilantro rice.

IMG_20180715_135500_696.jpg

They can also make an off-menu vegan version of their fajitas with their grilled veggies (onions, peppers, zucchini, etc.), black beans, cilantro rice, etc. They used to have a portobello mushroom version of the fajitas, but those are not on the the menu anymore.

And they can make an off-menu vegan version of their enchiladas that are filled with those same veggies. I had the server verify with the chef that the green enchilada sauce is indeed vegan, doesn’t contain chicken stock or any other lurking animal products:

20200815_151134

Just for reference if you want to get any sides or modify any menu items, the server told me that the red rice is made in chicken stock, and the refried beans contain lard. So the vegan alternatives to those are the cilantro lime rice and the black beans.

Every time I have walked by the Taqueria, the quick service side of Tortilla Jo’s, it has appeared to be closed. It seems that only the table service side of Tortilla Jo’s is currently open.

 

  • Splitsville

Splitsville has not reopened yet. Black Tap is currently using their patio.

 

  • La Brea Bakery

La Brea Bakery is currently serving a limited menu. The menu is much smaller than before, and every item is being served all day.

There is a vegan version of their La Brea Bakery Burger by substituting either their vegan veggie patty (bean and quinoa based), which is the same one they had before, and also now they are serving it with Impossible patty as well.

The brioche bun that they normally serve it on is not vegan, so ask to substitute the telera bread instead. They used to have a vegan wheat bun here, but they don’t have that currently, or at least not today. The telera bread is a simple white bread, similar to French bread.⁣ It is listed as coming with cheese, so specify to omit the cheese as well.⁣

It comes with butter lettuce, tomatoes, and caramelized onions. I added avocado in the photo below. It doesn’t come with any sauces by default, But of course they can bring you ketchup or mustard if you like.⁣

20200824_125238.jpg

You can choose a side of fries, yam chips, fruit, house salad, etc. The fries are made in a shared fryer, so I would suggest going for the fruit if you prefer to avoid that.⁣

You can order either with the QR code on the menu board out front, or you can go inside and order at the counter. They have their smaller patio on the right open, where you sit down after you order and they bring your food out to you. And then they have the larger patio on the left open for overflow. ⁣

If you order online, just make sure to put the patty and bread substitutions in the notes section and specify that you want it to be all vegan. ⁣

They also have Nancy’s Fancy Gelato on the menu in two vegan flavors: Chocolate Fondente and Coconut Stracciatella.

 

  • Starbucks (two locations)

Both the East (larger) and West (smaller) locations of Starbucks are currently open in Downtown Disney, and they have mobile order kiosks in the front. So you can order your drink on the Starbucks app and then pick it up out front.

Most drinks can be veganized by choosing soy, almond, coconut, and most recently, oat milk.

My current favorite is the Nitro Cold Brew with Cinnamon Oatmilk Foam:

20200829_183742

 

  • Naples / Napolini

Naples has reopened with a limited menu. I haven’t been back yet, but I have a photo of the menu board here, followed by info about those items before the closure. Since I haven’t been back yet, you can tell it’s pretty far down on my list of the good vegan food in Downtown Disney.

The current menu board:

20200829_184707

The minestrone soup, bruschetta, panini alla verdure, and vegetable sides appear to not be on the limited menu.

You can still veganize the pizza by asking for no cheese, extra sauce, and toppings of your choice. The photo below is a pizza with eggplant, artichokes, black olives, and arugula:

20190111_114140.jpg

They still have the Della Casa Salad, which is pictured here with added chickpeas:

20190111_114242.jpg

If they bring out bread before your meal, make sure to double check that it’s vegan, but last time I was there, they had two vegan breads – the ciabatta bread on left, pizza dough bread on right:

20190110_114635.jpg

Napolini is the quick service side of this restaurant, and here they can make you a pizza with no cheese and your choice of toppings.

 

  • Sprinkles Cupcakes

Sprinkles is still closed, unfortunately.

 

  • Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen

Their limited menu still has their Impossible Burger, which was added relatively recently.  Here is the current menu board (it is the same for lunch and dinner):

20200824_134103.jpg

Before the closure, they were using different buns entirely, so I had to switch out the bun on the previous version. But I asked again this time and had the server verify with the chef that the bun contains no egg, dairy, or honey, and the default bun is actually vegan now, so there is no need to switch the bun.

You do have to omit the aioli, which contains egg. So that is the only modification to make, just ask for the Impossible Burger with no aioli.

The fries are in a shared fryer, so switch them out for another side if you prefer (salad, veggies, etc).

They have a full bar, so they can make lots of cocktails and things. I got a virgin mint julep there for the first time and it was very refreshing! Quite different from the ones in Disneyland – less sweet and more fizzy. No cherry, though.

The Express side of the Jazz Kitchen just has a couple of items, nothing remotely veganizable unfortunately. They have a few drinks though, e.g. the virgin mint julep. Maybe one day they will have vegan beignets like they do at the Port Orleans Resort at Walt Disney World!

20200829_184752

 

  • Uva Bar and Café

Uva, along with Naples, is the last restaurant I haven’t been back to since the reopening, so you can tell that they are also pretty far down on my list. Here is the current menu board:

20200829_184505.jpg

This menu seems to change often. Right now they have the “Veggie Burger,” which was actually called the “Vegan Burger” for a while, but then changed back to the Veggie Burger. It had been a vegetarian patty with egg before that, so it was great that they changed it to be vegan, but now it appears that they have changed it again and it’s no longer reliably vegan. I will ask next time I go, but there is a likelihood that the patty has egg in it, so it wouldn’t be veganizable at all.

Pictured below is the old version of the Vegan Burger. It was a housemade quinoa patty, tomato, BBQ sauce, little gem lettuce, and housemade pickles, served with garlic herb fries:

20190815_203728.jpg

When I asked for an update a few weeks before the closure, I was told that they don’t have vegan buns anymore, so it would be a lettuce wrap. Also, the sauces have changed, so there is a lot going on, and I was a bit skeptical of the way they described the whole thing, so please verify about eggs/dairy/honey with your server and the chef, because this menu seems to change frequently.

Here are some other options on the menu that have not changed in the past couple of years and seem to be more reliable. But again, please double check:

  1. Guacamole: ask for no cheese.
  2. Trio of Mediterranean Dips (Hummus, Baba Ghanoush, Mouhammara): The pita bread that it normally comes with contains dairy, so ask for extra veggies for dipping instead. The candied walnuts do not have dairy or honey, but they are made in a shared fryer.
  3. Watermelon Salad: Omit feta cheese.
  4. Manchego Salad: Omit manchego cheese.
  5. Sweet potato fries with ketchup: these are vegan, just note that they are made in a shared fryer.

Below is the Trio of Mediterranean Dips, with extra veggies for dipping instead of the pita bread:

20190618_112447.jpg

Watermelon Salad, omit the feta cheese:

20190618_112601.jpg

Sweet potato fries with ketchup:

20180716_152051.jpg

 

  • Catal Restaurant

Catal is still closed.

 

  • Jamba Juice

Jamba Juice has reopened with what appears to be their full menu.

They have many smoothies that are vegan by default, i.e. the following smoothies in the “Plant-Based” section of their menu:⁣

Blackberry Smoothie⁣
Apples ‘n Greens⁣
Mega Mango⁣
Smooth Talkin’ Mango⁣
Strawberry Whirl⁣
Greens ‘n Ginger⁣
Pomegranate Paradise⁣
Peach Perfection⁣
Amazing Greens⁣
Vanilla Blue Sky⁣
Protein Berry Workout⁣

They also have smoothie bowls, which are smoothies with toppings such as granola, berries, chia seeds, and nuts. The following bowls are vegan without modifications:⁣

Vanilla Blue Sky Bowl⁣
Peachy Green Goodness Bowl⁣
Nutty Almond Butter Bowl⁣

Many of the other smoothies can be veganized with a substitution or two as well! For example, omit the Greek yogurt and swap it for oat milk.

Here is the Vanilla Blue Sky, which is unsweetened almond milk, vanilla coconut milk, bananas, pineapples, and blue spirulina:

20200804_212638-01

 

  • Marceline’s Confectionary (Candy Shop)

I checked in Marceline’s again for the Enjoy LifeSnacks with Character,” and it appears that they currently have several vegan varieties, as long as they stay in stock:

  • Dark Chocolate Bar
  • Ricemilk Choco Bar
  • Chocolate Chip Mini Cookies

20200804_181932-01.jpeg

They also still have these Mickey packaged chocolates. The only variety that is currently available and vegan is the Cocoa Dusted Dark Chocolate Almonds:

20200804_213412

20180712_145339.jpg

There used to be another variety that was vegan, the Dark Chocolate Non-Pareils, but those have been missing for quite some time now.

They still have these lollipops:

20180712_144550.jpg

20180712_144603.jpg

They still had some Goofy’s candy, some of which are vegan:

20180712_144955.jpg

20180712_144946.jpg

And I saw some Chip and Dale snacks as well:

20180712_145255.jpg

20180712_145303.jpg

20180712_145233.jpg

20180712_145240.jpg

20180712_145207.jpg

20180712_145213.jpg

 

  • Rinse Soap

Rinse is currently open in its normal location (exit Downtown Disney as if you were going to the Disneyland Hotel, but then turn left immediately after security, and you’ll see it around the corner on your left), and they also have a cart near Earl of Sandwich that is much more accessible, since you don’t have to be in the middle of the security checkpoint to get there.

Most of their products are vegan — notable exceptions are the sunscreen, chapstick, and skin sticks, which contain beeswax, and a couple of soaps that have honey.

The soaps all say “vegan friendly” on the label, except for the ones that mention honey:

20190509_170252.jpg

20190509_170224.jpg

They have essential oils, hand sanitizers (versions that are alcohol based, as well as witch hazel based), bath bombs, shower bombs, body spreads/lotions, etc.

20190509_170349.jpg

Bath Bombs: All of these are vegan except for the one that mentions honey in the name:

20190509_170453.jpg

More essential oils:

20190509_170426.jpg

Tub Truffles: Kind of like the bath bombs, but with a lot of cocoa butter, so they melt slowly instead of fizzing, and have more of a moisturizing effect:

20190509_170527.jpg

Beard products:

20190509_171123.jpg

Products for dogs — a shampoo/wash and a spray:

20190509_170502(0).jpg

Facial masks: Some of these have yogurt, just read the labels for each one. The Dead Sea one is vegan, it’s just the mud:

20190509_170511.jpg

Body Bliss Oils: I’m currently using a Gardenia scented one of these, I’m in love with it. It’s similar to a regular essential oil, but a little bit more diluted, so you can rub it on larger areas of your skin, for example after a shower.

20190509_171113.jpg

Body Spreads: These are all vegan. They’re a bit thicker than a standard lotion. I’m currently working through a Gardenia one, I love them, especially for my hands.

20190509_171151.jpg

20190509_171141.jpg

Refreshing sprays:

20190509_170515.jpg

 

  • Sephora

There is quite a bit of vegan and cruelty-free makeup and skincare here. Last time I was in there, they told me I wasn’t allowed to take photos, so unfortunately I can’t give you a very detailed update on what is currently available. But Sephora’s website will tell you whether any given product is vegan.

 

  • Curl Surf

I looked into Curl Surf quickly and saw that they do still stock the vegan sunscreen Sun Bum. Most of Sun Bum’s products are vegan, just look for the word vegan on the label.

 

That’s going to do it for Downtown Disney at the moment! Hopefully Disneyland, DCA, and the hotels will reopen soon, and then I can update all of those comprehensive guides as well. In the meantime, here are the most recent guides from before the closure for your reference:

Complete Guide to Vegan Options at Disneyland! (January 2020 Update)

Complete Guide to Vegan Options in California Adventure! (January 2020 Update)

Complete Guide to Vegan Options at the Disneyland Resort Hotels! (January 2020 Update)

Find me on Instagram for daily updates, and on Youtube for video versions of these guides:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/happiestveganonearth/

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjFU0LZX4OtGgqIXLrt60Uw

Also, tag me on Instagram in your vegan food photos! I love to see all the deliciousness that people find in the parks.

Thanks for reading! Until next time, see ya real soon!

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s