Complete Guide to Vegan Options at Disneyland! (October 2019 Update)

Welcome to Disneyland! Let’s eat some vegan food!

These are the options to the best of my knowledge as of October 2019. Please be aware that I try to update as thoroughly as I can, but the food options change regularly at Disneyland Resort, so the information becomes out of date at some point. Please check the main page of this blog ( if you are reading this more than a couple of months in the future, and use the most current version of the blog post so that you have the most accurate info for your visit to the park 🙂

Please contact me if you find that something has changed and that a previously vegan item is no longer vegan so that I can update the post! Messaging me on Instagram (@happiestveganonearth) is the quickest way to contact me.

Also, there are some seasonal Halloween menu items until October 31, so if you are reading this before then, please refer to the posts below for information on the Halloween Time Menus:

Your Guide to Halloween Time Vegan Options at Disneyland and California Adventure (2019)

Vegan Options at Oogie Boogie Bash (Halloween Party in Disney California Adventure, 2019)

Table of Contents (Jump to a section!)

  • Docking Bay 7 Food and Cargo (Counter Service)

Let’s start in Galaxy’s Edge (aka the Black Spire Outpost on the planet of Batuu, aka Star Wars Land).

Docking Bay 7 Food and Cargo is the main restaurant in Galaxy’s Edge where you can get full meals, while the other locations just have snacks. It is a counter service / quick service location, so there is no need to worry about a reservation. You order at the counter and then pick up your food and take it to a table. There are indoor and outdoor seating areas that are both really beautiful!

Below is the fully vegan entree at Docking Bay 7, the Felucian Garden Spread, which is made with Impossible meat. There is some controversy around Impossible foods, so I always suggest that you read up on it a bit and decide for yourself about it. I recommend this article in particular.

  • Felucian Garden Spread: Plant-Based “Kefta” (Impossible meatballs), herb hummus, tomato-cucumber relish, and pita bread:


The chef at this location assured me that this dish is 100% vegan, and I checked specifically that the pita bread is free of dairy, eggs, and honey.

Very recently, they have started adding the “plant-based” symbol to the menus, and the Felucian Garden Spread now has the little green leaf symbol next to it, indicating that it is plant-based, which they define as: “Contains no animal meat, dairy, eggs, or honey.”

I absolutely loved this dish. The Impossible meatballs also have quinoa in them, and the hummus is really interesting. I’m not sure what kinds of herbs are in it, but it really does taste like something from another planet. It’s a pretty good portion size for me, very satisfying and flavorful, but it might be a bit small if you have a larger appetite.

Another option of something to veganize in the Yobshrimp Noodle Salad, of course without the shrimp. I had the chef check on all of the other ingredients besides the shrimp — the sauces, etc, and the chef said that everything else about this dish is vegan. I asked specifically about fish sauce in the marinade, and the chef said that there are absolutely no animal products in the marinade. So all you have to do is say “no shrimp” to make it vegan:


It has chilled marinated noodles, vegetables (bell peppers, carrots, mushrooms), and it’s topped with cilantro. It was very tasty, especially if you’re a noodle fan! One thing to consider is that you’re still paying full price though, while taking off the most expensive part of the dish. So the Felucian Garden Spread might be more worth it in terms of what you’re paying for, but if you’re bored of that and want to switch it up, or if you’re really in a noodle mood, this is another tasty option.

If you are wondering where the Ithorian Garden Loaf is, it has been taken off the menu. It used to be available for dinner, but it was removed recently. I imagine that this decision was to streamline the kitchen, since the vegan dishes were the only ones that were offered only at lunch or only at dinner. Hopefully it comes back again one day, but I don’t think there are any plans at the moment to bring it back.

On the Kid’s menu, there are currently two dishes that are vegan or veganizable:

A Taste of Takodana is pictured below. It is black bean hummus, edible soil with nuts, chilled dipping vegetables, multigrain chips served with a choice of small beverage (apple juice, bottled water, or a soft drink):


The chef told me that the multigrain chips and the bread crumbs in the edible soil do not contain any eggs, dairy, or honey, but that their packaging has a statement that they are made in a shared facility, which is a warning for people with severe allergies, but not a concern for vegans.

The more recent addition to the kid’s menu is the Garden Patty Bun, which is a Plant-based Patty, Bao, Roasted Carrot, House Sauce and a Cuties Mandarin. The chef told me that the Bao bun contains dairy, so I asked if we could leave that off, and then get extra veggies. Normally it only comes with one carrot. Mine came with two carrots and some green beans:


The chef assured me that the house sauce is fully vegan. It tastes like thousand island sauce, similar to what they have over at Hungry Bear on their plant-based cheeseburger.

The patty made out of Impossible meat also has quinoa in it, very similar to the meatballs in the Felucian Garden Spread.

There are also three speciality drinks on the Docking Bay 7 menu:

  • Phattro: Gold Peak Unsweetened Tea, Odwalla Lemonade, Desert Pear
  • Moof Juice: Simply Fruit Punch, Simply Orange with Pineapple, Chipotle-Pineapple
  • Batuubucha Tea: Suja Pineapple Passsionfruit Kombucha

My favorite is the Batuubucha Tea because I love Kombucha and it’s the only place in the park you can get it. They also have kombucha in one of the cocktails at the Craftsman Bar and Grill in the Grand Californian Hotel though, and I had success there ordering just the kombucha by itself.

They also have the standard fountain beverages, coffee, etc.

On the breakfast menu here at Docking Bay 7, there isn’t much in the way of a full vegan breakfast. Unfortunately the Overnight Oats have yogurt (dairy) mixed in, and they are pre-made off site, so they can’t make you one without the yogurt. What they can do is make you a side of purple potatoes and pair that with a side of fruit. I haven’t gotten that yet, but if you have, please tag me on Instagram and let me know how it was!

  • Milk Stand

The Blue and Green Milks are clearly marked on the menu board as plant-based! They are a mix of rice and coconut milk.


They are frozen, sort of a milkshake type consistency.


The Blue milk has a stronger coconut flavor, with some fruitiness. If you like Pina Coladas, it’s in the same ballpark. Super creamy and delicious.

The green milk has more of a citrus flavor. I think it is supposed to be Orange Blossom, so it has floral notes as well. It is less conventional than the blue milk, definitely more complex and exotic tasting, but I really loved it as well. I think the blue is a sure bet for anyone who likes coconut and fruity flavors, but I loved the green as well and I’ll be getting both of them in the future.

  • Kat Saka’s Kettle

Here they have two flavors of popcorn, which are both vegan! The Outpost Popcorn Mix and the Chocolate Popcorn with Crait Red Salt. The popcorn itself is popped in coconut oil (and not butter, just like the regular popcorn throughout Disneyland and DCA), as indicated on the menu board:


This is the Outpost Popcorn Mix:


Here are the ingredients for the Outpost Popcorn Mix:

The red kernels are covered in a Red Chili Lime Glaze, and the ingredients list reads: Sugar, Cayenne Pepper Powder (Cayenne Red Peppers, Vinegar, Salt, Maltodextrin, Silicon Dioxide), Natural Flavors, FD&C Red #40 Lake, Maltodextrin, Salt, Spices, Modified Corn Starch, Soy Lecithin, FD&C Blue #1 Lake, FD&C Blue #1.

The purple kernels are covered in a Blueberry Lemon Pound Cake Glaze, and the ingredients list reads: Sugar, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Soy Lecithin, FD&C Red #3, FD&C Blue #1.

So you can see that there aren’t any obvious animal products in there. The dyes are not derived from insects; they are derived from coal. There are various issues with food dyes; please read up on them if you like. Avoiding all instances of food dyes and “natural and artificial flavors” in real life goes beyond the realm of “possible and practicable” (see the definition of veganism from the Vegan Society) for most people I would say. For example, if you’re going to boycott dyes and “natural flavors,” that also means that the blue milk described above, the Dole Whip, and many many otherwise vegan foods at Disneyland would be off-limits. Also, boycotting these kinds of accidentally vegan foods because of an ambiguous issue like this will not help animals in my opinion, so I would say that this popcorn is vegan.

As far as the taste goes, you can probably tell from the names of the glazes that it is a mix of sweet and spicy. I thought it was very tasty, I really enjoy that kind of sweet/spicy combo, but it wasn’t something I feel like I must get every time.

The newest addition at Kat Saka’s Kettle is the Chocolate Popcorn with Crait Red Salt!


Here is its ingredients list:


I really enjoyed this one! I like it quite a bit better than the Outpost Mix. It tastes like Cocoa Puffs cereal. It’s a really good amount of glaze — enough to be fun and tasty, but not overpowering.

  • Oga’s Cantina

Here is the menu at Oga’s Cantina for your reference:



And here is a rundown on the ingredients in each. Many of them have Popping Pearls, and I had the cast member check on the package. She wouldn’t bring the package for me to take a photo, but I asked for the brand, and it is the same Tea Zone/Lollicup brand that makes the popping pearls at Bing Bong’s in DCA and elsewhere in the parks. I have a photo of those, please see my entry on vegan options in DCA for that photo. They are vegan as far as I can tell; the only strange ingredient is the calcium lactate, but as far as my research can tell me, it is vegan. It is the calcium salt from lactic acid which is typically made from beet sugar. More info on that here and here. So I would say that these Popping Pearls are all vegan.

  • Non-alcoholic:
    • Hyperdrive (Punch it!): Powerade Mountain Berry Blast, White Cranberry Juice, Black Cherry Puree, Sprite
    • Jabba Juice: Simply Orange with Pineapple, Kiwi, Cantaloupe, Blueberry Popping Pearls
    • Blurrgfire: Odwalla Lemonade, Pomegranate Juice, Habanero Lime
    • Carbon Freeze: Powerade Lemon Lime, Wild Strawberry, Blueberry and Green Apple Popping Pearls
    • Cliff Dweller: Citrus Juices, Coconut, Hibiscus-Grenadine, Seagram’s Ginger Ale, Served in a Souvenir Porg Mug
  • Alcoholic:
    • Fuzzy Tauntaun: Ciroc Peach Vodka, Bols Peach Schnapps, Simply Orange with Tangerine, Pure Cane Sugar, ‘Buzzz’ Foam (I didn’t have time to ask about the foam, but there is a vegan foam that they use to top drinks at several locations throughout the Disneyland Resort, for example on Gaston’s Brew in Red Rose Taverne, and the Fun Wheel in Lamplight Lounge. I think that this is probably the same foam, but please double check if you order this.)
    • Jedi Mind Trick: Ketel One Botanical Grapefruit & Rose Vodka, John D. Taylor’s Velvet Falernum, Bols Blue Curaçao, White Grape Juice, Lime Juice, Grapefruit Bitters
    • T-16 Skyhopper: Tito’s Handmade Vodka, Bols Melon Liqueur, Kiwi, Half and Half: This one is obviously not vegan because of the half and half!
    • The Outer Rim: Patron Silver Tequila, Cedilla Açai Liqueur, Lime Juice, Pure Sugar, with Black Salt and Exotic Fruit Puree. This fruit puree contains dairy.
    • Dagobah Slug Slinger: Herradura Reposado Tequila, Bols Blue Curaçao, Citrus Juices, Ginger, Herbs, Bitters
    • Bespin Fizz: Bacardi Superior Rum, Yuzu Puree, Pomegranate Juice, White Cranberry Juice, Cloud Swirl (I haven’t had time yet to ask about what this Cloud Swirl means; I will do it next time. Please let me know what they say if you ask about this!)
    • Jet JuiceMaker’s Mark Bourbon, Ancho Reyes Chile Liqueur, Cedilla Açai Liqueur, White Grape Juice, Lemon Juice
    • Yub Nub: Malibu Pineapple Rum, Sailor Jerry Spiced Rum, Citrus Juices, Passion Fruit — Served in a Souvenir Endor Mug
  • Beers on Tap:
    • Gold Squadron Lager (Blue Point Brewing Co): Should be vegan. Barnivore has an email from the company saying that only their cask beers use isinglass, and there is an oyster lager that is obviously not vegan, but their regular lagers are vegan.
    • White Wampa Ale (Ballast Point Hefeweizen): Should be vegan. Barnivore lists most of their beers as vegan, but the Hefeweizen isn’t listed specifically.
    • Gamorrean Ale (New Belgium Brewing Red Ale): Vegan. There are company emails from New Belgium on Barnivore stating that all of their beers are vegan.
    • Bad Motivator IPA (Sierra Nevada IPA): Vegan. See the company emails on Barnivore stating that all of their beers are vegan.
  • Cider on Tap:
    • Spice Runner Hard Cider (Angry Orchard Cider Co.): Some flavors of cider from this company contain honey, and others don’t, see the listings on Barnivore. The Cinnful flavor is actually one of the vegan ones, and I’m thinking it might be this one since they call it “Spice Runner,” but I didn’t have time to ask, so that will be on my list for next time. Please let me know if they tell you which flavor of cider this is.
  • Wine on Tap (Goldschmidt Vineyards): Goldschmidt doesn’t have a listing on Barnivore at this time.
  • Food:
    • Oga’s Obsession: A cast member told me that this is sort of a jello concoction, and that the jello is the conventional kind with gelatin, so this can’t be veganized.
    • Batuu Bits: A cast member told me that these have eggs in the ingredients list.

So, after all of that, I ordered the Carbon Freeze! It has that dry ice effect going on and it makes the Popping Pearls very fun to watch. It’s a pricy drink for what it is, but it is fun as a reason to sit in the cantina and watch DJ Rex for a while.


  • Ronto Roasters

Brand new on the Ronto Roasters menu is the Ronto-less Garden Wrap! It has the “Plant-Based” symbol next to it on the menu, so that means it is fully vegan with no modifications.

It has a housemade sausage made with Impossible meat, onions, and an Asian-inspired sauce, kimchee slaw, pickled cucumber, and a Gochujang sauce, wrapped in pita bread.

20191016_185601 (1).jpg

It is super delicious and filling, and it has been getting rave reviews from everyone who has tried it in the past few days since it debuted. A lot of people have told me that it is now their #1 favorite meal in all of Disneyland/DCA/Downtown Disney!

They have three speciality beverages that are vegan at Ronto Roasters:

  • Tatooine Sunset: Gold Peak Unsweetened Tea, Odwalla Lemonade with Melon and Blueberry
  • Meiloorun Juice: Barrilitos Aguas Frescas Pineapple, Simply Lmeonade with Blueberry, White Cranberry Juice, Lemon Juice, and Desert Pear
  • Sour Sarlacc: Minute Maid Limeade with Raspberry and Spicy Mango

Also, they have fountain beverages, coffee, apple juice, etc.

For breakfast, they have the same Overnight Oats with yogurt in them as at Docking Bay 7, which unfortunately can’t be veganized.


  • Carnation Café (Main Street, U.S.A.): Table Service, Reservations Recommended

Now let’s head back to the front of the park to Main Street, USA and start at Carnation Café.

For breakfast:

Ask your server for the vegan Mickey waffles and vegan pancakes. It is the “allergy” version, so they are also gluten free. I believe they are made with rice flour. They have a bit of a different consistency than they would if they were made with regular wheat flour, so be prepared for that. It can really depend on how that particular chef cooks them, but sometimes they are a bit soft on the inside.

They can also make you soy lattes, cappuccinos, etc., or bring you soy milk to go with your coffee. I have been able to get roast potatoes in the past, as you see pictured here, but I don’t think they offer this option anymore.




For lunch and dinner, they have the Chef’s Vegan Burger, which I think is really tasty! It’s made with beans, corn, zucchini, etc:


The fries are in a shared fryer, so ask for fruit as a substitute if you prefer to avoid shared fryers.


  • Plaza Inn (Main Street, U.S.A.): Breakfast Buffet (Reservations Recommended/Required), Lunch and Dinner Counter Service (No reservations)

Plaza Inn has very similar vegan options for breakfast as Carnation Cafe, but it’s quite different because it’s a character dining buffet, so the characters wander around while you eat and you can take photos with them. Minnie is always there, and then an assortment of other characters — often you’ll see Captain Hook, Winnie the Pooh, Tigger, Eeyore, Max Goof, Rafiki, and Fairy Godmother.

When you arrive, ask your server about vegan options, and they will get a chef for you, who can walk you around the buffet to point out what is vegan there, and offer to make you some special vegan dishes.

The chef can make you vegan Mickey waffles, for example! These are also gluten-free, they are made with rice flour.


There are some fruit toppings at the buffet, like this strawberry topping:


And most importantly, coffee and potatoes!


Also, they recently started offering a tofu scramble here! Ask the chef if they can make it for you. I haven’t been back since they started doing this, but was nice enough to send me this photo!


Here is what she said about her Plaza Inn breakfast: “The chef came out and spoke to me about the vegan options and prepared this amazing breakfast special, just for me! Scrambled tofu with peppers and onions, gluten-free vegan waffles, and potatoes. SO GOOD!”


For lunch and dinner, Plaza Inn is not a character buffet, but just a regular counter service / cafeteria style restaurant. It is probably the least impressive vegan option in the park unfortunately. This menu has not changed in a long long time, so hopefully it will get an update soon. All they have is pasta with marinara sauce — omit the cheese. The cast members were unsure about the breadstick ingredients, so they offered me applesauce or carrots instead. It’s not very impressive, but if the rest of your party really wants to eat there, you can certainly get a full belly here!



  • Jolly Holiday (Main Street, U.S.A.): Counter service, no reservations

Here you can get the Grilled Veggie and Whole Grain Salad, described on the menu: “Seasonal Vegetables, Mixed Greens, Barley, Spelt, with Basil Vinaigrette served with a fresh Breadstick.”

Make sure to ask for no breadstick, as it has cheese baked onto it. They can substitute their house-made chips. The chef told me that the veggies are cooked in oil, but they can’t guarantee 100% that there isn’t cross-contamination within the kitchen.

The dressing is vegan, no need to substitute!


They also have soy and almond milk to make lattes with!


  • Starbucks (Market House, Main Street, USA)

Halfway down Main Street is a Starbucks that has all of the vegan options you would normally find at a Starbucks. My favorite is a Soy Vanilla Latte, or a Soy Hot Chocolate around Christmas time! There are too many options to go over them all here, but they have soy, almond, and coconut milk, and most of the drinks can be veganized with them. Just be careful of some of the syrups, with have dairy in them, for example the pumpkin spice. If you’re unsure, google “ordering vegan at Starbucks” and you’ll find some comprehensive lists. Luckily the hot chocolate doesn’t have dairy in the syrup/powder, so you can get this beauty to sip on while watching the fireworks!


  • Tropical Hideaway (Adventureland): Counter Service

This place behind the Tiki Room opened in December 2018 and it is beautiful! Here is a summary of the vegan options:

  • Dole whips in different flavors: pineapple, orange, and raspberry. All Dole Whip flavors are vegan! You can see the ingredients lists for all of their flavors on the Dole website.
  • They also currently have mango dole whip as part of the Mango Chile Whip, which is kind of a seasonal item, so it’s unclear how long it will be there.
  • Dole whip float: Pineapple juice topped with any flavor dole whip
  • Loaded Whip: Any flavor dole whip topped with toasted coconut, crystallized hibiscus, pineapple pieces, tangerines, and jackfruit. Omit the pocky cookie sticks to make it vegan.
  • Hippeas in two flavors: vegan white cheddar and sriracha sunshine
  • Plantain chips
  • Trail mix by Truly Good Foods
  • Salt and Vinegar Lays
  • Whole fruit: apples, bananas, oranges, pineapple spears, etc.
  • Blue Sky sodas, Zico coconut water, orange juice, etc.

The chefs showed me the binder with the ingredients lists of the bao buns — the dough contains milk unfortunately.

The Ramen Shaker Salad seems like it will contain egg noodles for the foreseeable future. When I went on the first day, they had a different batch of noodles, but after that, they switched it to a noodle brand that contains eggs. The ingredients list is on the cup, so please check the list to see if it contains eggs. Hopefully in the future they will use a different noodle brand.

Below is the Loaded Whip with pineapple/raspberry! You can choose any flavor of dole whip, or a swirl of two flavors, and then just say “no pocky sticks.”




Below is a dole whip with the orange + pineapple swirl — the colors aren’t that different, but hopefully you can distinguish them!


The newest addition here is the Chile-Mango Whip! It is Mango Dole Whip with chamoy sauce, cucumber, pineapple, jicama, and tajín, with a piece of dried mango candy as a garnish. It is fully vegan with no modifications necessary:


Here is a look at some of the other snacks available at the Tropical Hideaway:


The Hippeas and Lays in the photo above are vegan. Watch out  for the Maui style chips though, they contain milk!


Sriracha Sunshine Hippeas ingredients:







They also sell reusable plastic sporks in the Tropical Hideaway. I always bring my steel spork or a spoon from home with me whenever I’m at the park, because I almost always have a dole whip and and I like to avoid the plastic utensils, especially since they’re not recyclable.

  • Tiki Juice Bar (Adventureland): Counter Service

All Dole Whip flavors are vegan! You can see the ingredients lists for all of their flavors on the Dole website.

At the Tiki Juice Bar, you can get a pineapple Dole Whip (just the soft serve), a Dole Float (with pineapple juice), or a pineapple spear. If you’re into spicy, ask for a packet of tajín and the cast member will be happy to give you one!



I haven’t seen them using cherries in a while for some reason, but when they do, they are by the brand Cherryman, and this is the ingredients list:


You can also get Dole Whips, Dole Floats, and the version with rum at Trader Sam’s/Tangaroa Terrace in the Disneyland Hotel.

  • Bengal Barbecue (Adventureland): Counter Service

Here you can get veggie skewers, either on their own, or as a plate with rice and citrus miso-slaw. They are on a shared grill.

This Jungle Julep is delicious! It’s a slush of grape, orange, lemon, and pineapple juice, with grenadine. Super refreshing!


Bengal Barbecue also does a hummus plate, but it’s pre-made and one of them has cheese in it.

  • Rancho del Zocalo (Frontierland): Counter Service

The Cauliflower Tacos with avocado pasilla crema are one of my favorite dishes at Disneyland right now. They are vegan by default, just make sure that they don’t sprinkle cheese on top of the beans.

Recently, they were using beans that contained lard for a few days on and off. In general the cast members were warning guests who ordered an otherwise vegetarian/vegan meal that the beans contained lard, but it appears that they did not do it for every single guest. Because they’ve been switching back and forth, please verify about the beans if you order them. For years they have been vegan, and they are supposed to be vegan by default, but recently we’ve had to be extra vigilant about this.

The avocado pasilla crema is vegan: it is just avocados, pasilla peppers, and tofu — and the chef assured me that there were no dairy or eggs in it.

Originally, the cauliflower tacos came with chips, like this:


But now they have the option to have them with rice and beans, like this:


I like them much better with the rice and beans! It feels like a more filling and balanced meal. Just be careful, as I noted above, and verify that they are not using beans with lard on that particular day.

This is the marinade for the cauliflower:


I also really love this tostada salad! It doesn’t look like much, but on the bottom there is a huge layer of refried beans, so it’s very filling. I usually can’t finish it all! The crunchy shell is heavenly. Ask for extra guacamole and grilled veggies — they’ve always been happy to do that for me since I said no cheese/no meat.


The crispy chips in bags are all vegan as well — the cinnamon and limón ones. I really love the cinnamon ones because they’re basically like eating a churro. The churros at Disneyland aren’t vegan (they contain milk and egg), but these cinnamon chips give you that same experience!

The Jamaica Freeze (hibiscus slushie) was originally a summer special, but it’s still on the menu as of October 2019.

They also have these fruit cups, very refreshing!



  • Hungry Bear (Critter Country): Counter Service

They recently changed up the burger here — it used to be “Messy Melvin’s Vegan Burger,” which was a Beyond Burger with stewed tomatoes on top. Now it is the “Classic Plant-Based Cheeseburger,” which is a Beyond burger, a slice of Chao Cheese, a housemade vegan sauce (sort of a thousand island sauce), and lettuce. The menu board says “Contains no animal meat, dairy, eggs, or honey,” which is awesome, because that means it is vegan with no modifications!

It comes with either fries or house slaw, which is a vinegar-based cole slaw that is vegan.



What is pictured above is actually an Impossible patty, because when this burger originally appeared on the menu, it was made with Impossible. But there has been a shortage over the past few months, so they switched it to the Beyond Burger. I think the idea was originally to switch it back to the Impossible burger once the shortage was over, but it seems like they’re going to stick with Beyond for the foreseeable future at this location. If you strongly prefer one over the other, then please verify with a cast member or chef before ordering to know for certain which one you’re going to get.

They also have seasonal lemonades/slushies. Last time I checked it this Watermelon slushie, which I very much enjoyed! Just say “no whip cream” to make it vegan:


Also, this Blueberry Lemonade:


  • Hungry Bear Fantasmic Dining Package

An exciting new development that appeared over the summer is that they now offer Beyond Sausages here at Hungry Bear as part of the Fantasmic Dining Package. They are part of the “Plant-Based Skewers” dish. They consist of Beyond Hot Italian Sausage, bell peppers, onions, and mushrooms:


The dish is normally served with carrots, mashed potatoes, and cornbread, even though these sides aren’t mentioned in the menu description. The mashed potatoes and cornbread both contain dairy, so ask for French fries and watermelon as a substitute instead of those two. The fries can be prepared in a separate fryer upon request.

This is not a part of the regular menu; you can only get them as part of the Fantasmic Dining Package. This means that you pay for this meal and eat it whenever you like, and then it also gets you a Fantasmic fastpass, which reserves you a spot in a decent viewing area for Fantasmic. You need to make a reservation on the Disneyland app or website. They sometimes sell out, but on this day, for example, I went on the app at 3:50pm, and I was able to get a reservation for 4:15pm, and they just went ahead and prepared the skewers for me a few minutes early.

Here is the menu that is specifically for the Fantasmic Dining Package:


  • Royal Street Veranda (New Orleans Square): Counter Service

It says “vegetarian gumbo” on the menu board, but it’s actually vegan.

The gumbo served in a vegan sourdough bread bowl, but there have been times when they ran out and gave it to me in a french bread bowl, and that is also vegan. I have heard that sometimes they brush the bread with butter — this is rare, but ask to double check in case they are doing that on the day you are there. It has never happened to me.


This photo is from when I was still using plastic cutlery at Disneyland, but now I have my own stainless steel straw, spork, and cloth napkin that I bring with me.

  • Mint Julep Bar (New Orleans Square): Counter Service

This place only serves Mint Juleps (virgin), beignets, and sometimes some seasonal desserts.

I asked whether there was honey or any other sneaky animal products in the Mint Julep, and they showed me the ingredients list — it’s vegan!

Unfortunately they don’t have vegan beignets here like they do at Walt Disney World. I keep asking, but as of October 2019, there are no alternative beignets for allergies or anything, just the one type.


They also have a seasonal Mint Julep right now — the Haunted Mansion 50th – Blackberry Midnight Julep. Head on over to my post about Halloween Time Vegan Options at Disneyland and California Adventure to learn more about that.

  • River Belle Terrace (New Orleans Square): Table Service, Reservations Recommended

For breakfast, there isn’t anything vegan on the regular menu. On the secret menu they sometimes have vegan pancakes, but it appears that they’re not always available, so have a backup in mind in case they don’t have them.


Your best bet here for lunch and dinner is the BBQ Tofu! You can either get it as part of the River Belle’s Chopped Salad, or as an entree with 2 sides. The tofu is normally cooked in a shared fryer, but they can bake it separately if you ask. See below for photos of that.

The sides tend to change pretty often, so ask your server which of the sides are currently vegan. The last time I went, a server told me that the vegan sides are the steamed veggies and the baked beans (please see photos in the following section, which describes the River Belle Terrace Fantasmic Dining Package).

Displaying 20170103_125529.jpg

Displaying 20170103_123144.jpg

You can also get the Chopped Salad with tofu, and then switch the ranch dressing for the apple vinaigrette instead. It normally comes with fried onions, and they’re in the shared fryer as well, but there is no egg batter or anything like that, so that’s just a matter of how you feel about shared fryers.



  • River Belle Terrace Fantasmic Dining Package (Reservations Required)

Fantasmic Dining Packages are available for three restaurants: River Belle Terrace, Hungry Bear, and Blue Bayou. See Disneyland’s website for more info on pricing and availability. I did this one again on March 16, 2019 and below is my experience.

Usually when you reserve a Fantasmic dining package, the way it works is that you buy the meal, which is more expensive than what you would normally be paying at that restaurant (it is different for each restaurant, see pricing at the link above), and what it gets you is access to a good viewing area along the Rivers of America to watch Fantasmic. It’s basically like getting a Fastpass, but you didn’t have to show up early enough to get one, and the section you get is quite good. So you’re paying not only for the meal, but for the convenience of not having to get a Fantasmic Fastpass, but still getting a good viewing area.

When I went this last time, though, I realized that there are some reservation times (ours was at 7:30pm) where the idea is that you watch Fantasmic from the actual patio of River Belle Terrace, and not from a separate viewing area next to the water. It is pretty far back, but you can still see what is going on. But for someone who had never seen the show before, they would certainly miss a lot and I wouldn’t recommend being that far back. Our desserts came out right around the time that Fantasmic started (9:00pm), and then we hung around after to watch Mickey’s Mix Magic from our table there as well (9:30pm).

When you make your reservation, please clarify with a cast member how this will go, especially if you want to see Fantasmic from one of the viewing sections in the front.

It is a three course meal, and it was charged on the bill as the entree plus the Fantasmic package ($25+$45), so $70 plus tax and tip.

Our server was very knowledgeable about how to veganize each of the courses. For our appetizer, we got the allergy version of the salad, which is with no cheese, and no candied pecans (which contain dairy). It was arugula, cranberries, and thinly sliced apples I think. The dressing that it normally comes with contains honey, so the server brought us out some oil and balsamic instead.


The entree is the BBQ tofu. Our server said that the vegan side options were steamed veggies (carrot and brussels sprouts, and the baked beans). He said that the baked beans used to contain bacon, but now they also have a vegan version, so verify that you’re getting the vegan beans with your server.

The tofu is fried in a shared fryer, but they can bake it for you upon request. I actually asked for the fried version, as I am not bothered by shared fryers, but the order was mistakenly made baked instead. I was interested to see what it was like baked, so I didn’t send it back immediately after the food runner dropped it off. I had a few bites, and I was pretty disappointed — it barely seemed baked, I would say steamed at the most, but maybe just heated, and then tossed in BBQ sauce. Our server came back and noticed that it came out baked instead of fried, and asked if we would like to get a new batch. It really is much better fried. In any case, it is a very large portion, so bring your appetite.

Here is the baked version:


Here is the fried version:


There aren’t any vegan desserts on the menu, but they do have a strawberry sorbet on the secret menu. Please verify with your server which sorbets are vegan (they have several flavors, and some of them are more of a gelato type with eggs in them). I was so full of tofu at this point, so I couldn’t eat much of it, but it was a really delicious strawberry sorbet:


Overall, it’s hard to say whether this is worth $70 or not. I think if you get the section that is right next to the water, and you want a really good view of Fantasmic, it can be worth it, depending on what your priorities are. However, you can also do the Hungry Bear Fantasmic Package, where you can get an Impossible Burger (or Beyond, depending on availability), for much cheaper, and that also gets you a good section of Fantasmic.

I have yet to do the Blue Bayou version, but you can see in this blog post under the Blue Bayou section what their vegan options are. I’m inclined to say that it wouldn’t be worth it there for the price point, but please let me know if you go and what your thoughts are.

  • French Market (New Orleans Square): Counter Service

Here you can get the veggie jambalaya, which is off-menu, but if you ask, they will bring you some! It’s pretty good, but for me, I’d rather have the gumbo, so I don’t get this very often. It’s not a huge portion, so if you’re very hungry, I would suggest getting a fruit plate as well.

You can also ask for this jambalaya in a sourdough bread bowl, and that makes it much more filling.


  • Café Orleans (New Orleans Square): Table Service, Reservations Recommended/Required

For lunch and dinner, you can get the house salad with no cheese and no candied pecans (dairy), the pommes frites with no cheese and switch the sauce for ketchup.

The vegan entree is the Vegetable Bolognese. The menu doesn’t say anything about cheese (it just says “Zucchini, Yellow Squash, Eggplant, and Ratatouille Sauce,” but it’s a good idea to say “no cheese” just in case, since this is the sort of dish I could see having random cheese on top of it!


These are the Pommes Frites (omit the parmesan, and switch the mayo-based remoulade sauce for ketchup):


  • Blue Bayou (New Orleans Square): Table Service, Reservations Recommended/Required

There is nothing vegan on the menu, but the chef will make you an off-menu pasta dish if you ask. There is a vegetarian pasta dish with egg noodles and cheese on the menu, so this is with different noodles and some added veggies. It tastes great, but it’s $30 and doesn’t really seem to match that price point. That is the case with everything on the menu, though — even meat-eaters say that this restaurant isn’t the best — you’re the for the ambiance, not for the food. If you do want to eat here, a reservation is a must, as it’s always booked.


They do have vegan dessert options, which is quite nice! They have several sorbet flavors and it depends which day you’re there — when I went, they had mango, kiwi, and pear, so I went with the pear:


  • Red Rose Taverne (Fantasyland): Counter Service

The vegan option here has changed back and forth over the last couple of years, but the current version of the sandwich is the Enchanted Cauliflower Sandwich, which is a grilled cauliflower steak, vegan spicy lime aioli, lettuce, and stewed tomatoes on a toasted roll, served with French Fries:



The old version of the sandwich required modifications (omit the fried green beans, which had an egg batter, and switch out the cheese fries for regular fries), but this new version doesn’t need any modifications; it is vegan by default. I really enjoyed the samosa patty on the old version of the sandwich, but I’m so happy that it’s vegan by default now — overall it is an improvement in my opinion.

They also have breakfast here, and there is one dish that can be veganized — the Garden Vegetable Hash, which is described on the menu as “Mushrooms, Sun-dried Tomatoes, Kale, Taverne Potatoes, Lemon Béchamel Sauce and a Baked Egg served with a Petit Croissant.” So you have to remove the sauce, egg, and croissant. The potatoes and veggies are sauteed in oil. The first time I got it, I was a bit underwhelmed:


But I got it again recently (March 2019) and it was a lot better. It seems like they are using more garlic, and it was in general much tastier and more filling than the first time I got it:


  • Maurice’s Treats (Fantasy Faire, near the castle)

There are some frozen lemonade drinks here that are vegan! My favorite is the Rose lemonade. They also have a Boysen Apple Freeze that is very popular.


  •  Alien Pizza Planet (Formerly Redd Rockett’s Pizza Port, Tomorrowland)

This is very similar to Boardwalk Pizza and Pasta in California Adventure. You can ask them to make you a personal pizza with vegan cheese (Daiya), or to put vegan cheese on top of your pasta. It’s not on the menu, it’s a secret, so you have to ask for it.

Terra Nova Vegetable Pasta — ask for no parmesan, and replace with daiya mozzarella:


Here is the pizza with vegan (Daiya) cheese. They generally refuse to add any veggies to top this here in Tomorrowland, but they generally are willing to do it in DCA at Boardwalk Pizza and Pasta. It’s still quite good with just the daiya cheese though, if you’re in the mood for pizza:


  • Galactic Grill (Tomorrowland)

They have a veggie wrap on the menu here that always seemed promising, but the problem is that they are made off-site and the cheese is already in them, so they can’t make them without the cheese. They do have veggie burgers on the secret menu though. It’s a vegan Gardenburger patty and the regular vegan buns they use throughout the park. The fries are in a dedicated (non-shared) fryer.


  • Mickey Pretzels, Popcorn, Pickles, Fruit (Snack carts throughout the parks)


The Mickey Pretzels are vegan! Just make sure to get the version without the cheese sauce. Get some mustard packets instead!

Here are the ingredients lists for the pretzels:

This is the regular Mickey Pretzel, so obviously just say no to the cheese:


Below is the ingredients list for the cinnamon pretzel. It is just the ingredients list for the dough, and then the cinnamon/sugar mix is added afterwards. Note that this is the one that is not stuffed with cream cheese, but the one that can be ordered with a cream cheese dip. I believe that the Frontierland pretzel cart is the only one that has this vegan cinnamon pretzel where it doesn’t have the cream cheese stuffed on the inside. So if you are at a pretzel cart, make sure that you’re getting the one that doesn’t have cream cheese on the inside, and then just don’t order the add-on cream cheese dip, and it will be vegan:


The popcorn is vegan too! It’s with oil instead of butter. Please see the ingredients list below.



I like to bring a little tupperware of nutritional yeast and sprinkle it on top of my popcorn! I leave a trail of yellow pixie dust behind me 😉




And of course the pickles you’ll find at the fruit stands! Another perfect opportunity to sprinkle some tajín on there!


I also spotted these Japanese peanuts at the snack carts recently!



The churros, however, are not vegan:


And of course there are bananas, apples, oranges, pineapple spears, grapes, mango, etc. at all of the snack carts throughout the parks.

  • Dark Chocolates and “Snacks with Character” throughout the parks

You can find these bagged dark chocolates at the candy shop on Main Street and Pooh’s Corner, as well as the candy shop on Buena Vista Street in California Adventure. The two vegan options are the Dark Chocolate Nonpareils and the Cocoa Dusted Dark Chocolate Almonds. Recently (September 2019), the Nonpareils have been been out of stock for a while, and it’s not clear when or if they might be back. But the Cocoa Dusted Dark Chocolate Almonds have been there consistently.





At these locations with the chocolates, you can find various “Snacks with Character,” which I think are mostly repackaged Enjoy Life products that are made for people with allergies. Here is what is currently available from Enjoy Life, pictured below:

  • Chocolate Protein Bites
  • Chocolate Marshmallow Grain & Seed Bar
  • Banana Caramel Grain & Seed Bar
  • Dark Chocolate Bar
  • Ricemilk Choco Bar
  • Chocolate Chip Mini Cookies


Sweet Potato Tortilla Chips and Sweet Chili Tortilla Chips:

















  • Ice Cream Carts throughout the parks

This Olaf Strawberry Lemonade Bar can be found at ice cream carts throughout the parks:




There is also currently a Sweet Tarts popsicle bar that can be found at many of the ice cream carts that is vegan. The carts typically also have a few vegan candies, like Sour Patch Kids, Red Vines, etc.

Those are all of the Disneyland options that I know about at the moment! Please check out my other most recently updated comprehensive guides:

Your Guide to Vegan Options in California Adventure! (June 2019 Update)

Your Guide to Vegan Options in Downtown Disney! (June 2019 Update)

Your Guide to Vegan Options at the Disneyland Resort Hotels! (June 2019 Update)

Please let me know if this has been helpful and feel free to message me on Instagram (@happiestveganonearth) if you have any questions. I hope you have a great time in the park and eat all the delicious vegan foods!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s